Report: Bobby Jones, Moncrief, Westphal, Divac selected to basketball Hall of Fame

Yahoo Sports Contributor
Yahoo Sports
Vlade Divac is rumored to be enshrined in the basketball hall of fame this year. (Photo by Brian Rothmuller/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)
Vlade Divac is rumored to be enshrined in the basketball hall of fame this year. (Photo by Brian Rothmuller/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Bobby Jones, Vlade Divac, Sidney Moncrief and Paul Westphal will be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame this year, per ESPN’s Adrian Wojnarowski.

The news broke late Friday night, and a formal announcement will be made Saturday in Minneapolis, where the Final Four is scheduled to tip off.

Scroll to continue with content

However, Wojnarowski adds three notable finalist were not selected for honors.

Jones gained notoriety in his 12-year career for being a defensive force. The Charlotte native was selected to an All-Defensive team (ABA and NBA) a total of 11 times. The now 67-year-old began his career with the Denver Nuggets in the ABA before playing for Denver and then the Philadelphia 76ers in the NBA. Jones won a championship with the 76ers in 1983.

ESPN reports Vlade Divac was selected by the International Committee. The Serbia native played 16 years in the association, and per ESPN is one of only seven players with 13,000 points, 9,000 rebounds, 3,000 assists and 1,500 blocked shots. The 51-year-old currently serves as the vice president of basketball operations and general manager of the Sacramento Kings.

Moncrief played four years at Arkansas, where he led the Razorbacks to a Final Four appearance in 1978. The following year, the Milwaukee Bucks drafted him fifth overall, where he played for 10 years before spending his final season with the Atlanta Hawks. Moncrief was a two-time Defensive Player of the Year and a five-time All-Defensive team choice.

Westphal spent three years at USC before going 10th overall to the Boston Celtics in 1972. The five-time NBA All Star was a part of the Celtics’ 1973-74 championship roster. Two years later, the guard helped the Phoenix Suns reach the 1976 NBA Finals. Following his retirement in 1984, Westphal coached the Suns, the Seattle SuperSonics and the Sacramento Kings, accruing a 318-279 regular-season record.

ESPN’s The Undefeated also reported Al Attles and the late Chuck Cooper will also be enshrined this year, the former being inducted as a contributor.

Attles spent the entirety of his 11-year playing career with the Warriors, back when the reigning NBA champions were based in Philadelphia. The 82-year-old followed them to California, playing 711 games with the storied franchise. He coached the Warriors for 14 season after he retired in 1971, including the 1974-1975 championship-winning season.

Chuck Cooper made history in 1950 by becoming the first African-American to be selected in the NBA draft. The Pittsburgh native was selected in the second round by the Boston Celtics.

More from Yahoo Sports:

What to Read Next