Two Vols named to Maxwell Award preseason watch list

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·1 min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Two Tennessee football players have been named to the Maxwell Award preseason watch list.

Quarterback Hendon Hooker and wide receiver Cedric Tillman have been named to the list by the Maxwell Football Club.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, has been awarded to the College Football Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell was a standout at Swarthmore College, renowned sportswriter and football official.

Tennessee is one of four Southeastern Conference teams and 13 schools to have multiple players on the preseason watch list for the award.

Hooker started 11 contests for the Vols last season after transferring from Virginia Tech.

He holds Tennessee single-season records in completion percentage (68.0) and passing efficiency (181.4). Hooker accounted for 36 total touchdowns in 2021.

The Greensboro, North Carolina native was the first Tennessee quarterback since Erik Ainge to be a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award.

Tillman is the top returning wide receiver in the SEC and a candidate for the Biletnikoff Award.

He holds the school record for most consecutive games with a touchdown reception (7).

As a redshirt junior, Tillman recorded 64 receptions, 1,081 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Peyton Manning is the only Vol to win the Maxwell Award, claiming the honor in 1997.