Lady Byng Trophy Finalists: Gaudreau vs. Granlund vs. Tarasenko

The Lady Byng Trophy is awarded to the NHL player “adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct, combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

It’s voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. It usually goes to the player who has the most points, combined with the fewest penalty minutes, because that’s become the de facto matrix through which the players are nominated by PWHA voters.

[Follow Puck Daddy on social media: Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Tumblr]

Anyway, the award’s 2017 finalists are due to be announced on Sunday by the NHL. But just like with the Norris Trophy finalists, an NHL team website jumped the gun. Thanks to the Minnesota Wild (cached article here), we know that Calgary Flames forward Johnny Gaudreau, Minnesota Wild forward Mikael Granlund and St. Louis Blues forward Vladimir Tarasenko are the 2017 Lady Byng nominees.

Gaudreau had 61 points and four penalty minutes. Granlund had 69 points and 12 penalty minutes. Tarasenko had 75 points and 12 penalty minutes. They’re all very nice boys.

Anze Kopitar won the award last season. He too is a nice boy.

Who Wins The Lady Byng Trophy

Johnny Gaudreau. He had the fewest penalty minutes and therefore is the most gentlemanly of these players.

Our Overall Ballots

1 – Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary Flames

2 – Marian Hossa, Chicago Blackhawks

3 – Oscar Klefbom, Edmonton Oilers

4 – Brandon Saad, Columbus Blue Jackets

5 – Tobias Rieder, Arizona Coyotes

Who Should Win The Lady Byng

Please ask the NHL on-ice officials and the NHLPA, as they should be the ones voting on this award annually instead.

s/t Reddit for finding the article.

Greg Wyshynski is a writer for Yahoo Sports. Contact him at or find him on Twitter. His book, TAKE YOUR EYE OFF THE PUCK, is available on Amazon and wherever books are sold.