Stewart-Haas Racing names Daniel Knost as Kurt Busch’s crew chief

From the Marbles

Daniel Knost will be the crew chief for Kurt Busch at Stewart-Haas Racing next year.

The team announced Knost's promotion along with some other organizational changes on Tuesday, including the official announcement that Chad Johnston would be atop the pit box for Tony Stewart.

Scroll to continue with content

Greg Zipadelli, who was Stewart's crew chief at Joe Gibbs Racing and has served as the team's competition director, will be the teams vice president of competition. Matt Borland, formerly Ryan Newman's crew chief, will be the team's vice president of engineering.

Knost has been with the team since before it was Stewart-Haas Racing and was Haas-CNC Racing. He formerly served as the race engineer for Newman's car.

Rodney Childers will be Kevin Harvick's crew chief and Tony Gibson will be staying with Danica Patrick.

“Our greatest asset at Stewart-Haas Racing is our people,” Stewart said in a release. “Obviously, there is a lot of change happening for 2014 as we grow to four teams and bring in Kevin Harvick and Kurt Busch. But with our new management structure and the crew chiefs we have in place, we’re well positioned to handle whatever challenges come our way. Collectively, we have the experience and wherewithal necessary for each of our teams to perform at the highest level possible.”

In other crew chief news, Mike Kelley will be the crew chief for Ricky Stenhouse Jr. next season, replacing Scott Graves. Graves is moving to the Nationwide Series for Roush Fenway. Kelley and Stenhouse won the 2011 and 2012 Nationwide Series titles together.

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the editor of From The Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next