ACBF honors 2024 Hall of Fame Class, county high school players and coaches

Apr. 7—CONNEAUT — Eleven players and the 1969-1970 Conneaut boys basketball team were inducted Sunday into the Ashtabula County Basketball Foundation Hall of Fame.

The players were inducted as part of the 2024 Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner at the New Leaf Center in Conneaut.

Darrah Smith Jones is the first player from Lakeside High School to earn the honor. The 2008 graduate scored 1,224 points for the Dragons. She later played at Lakeland Community College.

Tom Church is a 1998 graduate of Conneaut High School and his team finished 19-1 his senior season averaging about 26 points per game. He went on to play at Ashland University and became a successful collegiate coach recently completing his sixth season at Tiffin University.

Tim Tallbacka graduated from Harbor High School in 1987 and went on to play at Hiram College where he scored more than 1,000 points and is the school's Hall of Fame. He's coached at Ashtabula, Lakeside, Brookfield, Conneaut and Edgewood.

Andrew Raevouri was part of the 1966-1967 Conneaut team that was 16-4 and won the NEC championship. He was a first-team all-county selection and would play at the College of Wooster.

Trisha Dreslinski Winchester, of Edgewood, scored more than 700 points in her high school career and averaged 15.1 points her junior year and 11 points her senior year. She lated played softball at Hofstra University and graduated in 2011.

Antonio (Ralph) DeJesus averaged 23 points per game his senior season for the Geneva Eagles as the team won Northeastern Conference championships in 1981 and 1982.

Angela Notte is a 2006 graduate of St. John and Paul and scored 924 points in her career. During her tenure on the team, the Heralds went 61-25 and were 28-4 in the ESC including three championships.

Don Condon is a 1965 graduate of St. John and averaged 17.4 points and 14.5 rebounds per game his senior season. He was honored posthumously after he died in 2022. Condon also played football for two seasons at Kent State University.

Jon Nagy is a 1999 graduate of Jefferson who scored 19.9 points per game as the Falcons shared a conference championship. He was named Ashtabula County co-player of the year.

Mike Brosovich averaged 22.3 points and 11 rebounds per game in his senior season for Grand Valley. The 2001 graduate was named Ashtabula County co-player of the year.

Craig Readshaw is a 1971 graduate of Pymatuning Valley High School and averaged around 17 points per game during his junior and senior seasons with a shooting range out to 30 feet.

The 1969-1970 Conneaut boys basketball team finished at 19-4 after advancing to the regionals after winning a district title.

Ashtabula County Basketball Foundation scholarship winners were Chance Loomis, Kaelyn Hart, Jerry Arrington, Lanie Torrance, Alex DiSalvatore, Zane Neczeporenko, Mia Contenza, Vincent Narducci, Leah DeMoss, Luke Smith and Kayla Farley.

Alyssa Cevera, of St. John, and Brady Andrejack, of Edgewood, received the Edward Jones Flautt/Bowler Scholarship; Delaney Marrison, of Geneva and, Joe DeGeorge, of Jefferson, received the Ashtabula County Basketball Foundation Scholarship, and Logan Zirzow of Grand Valley received the Tom Henson Family Scholarship.

Anthony Covetta and DeGeorge, of Jefferson; Blake Krznaric, of PV; Jacob Ernst, of Edgewood; Loomis, of Conneaut, and Cevera were recognized as 1,000-point career scorers.

Edgewood coach Randy Vencill was named girls coach of the year; Edgewood coach John Bowler, boys coach of the year; Katie McCollister of Edgewood, girls player of the year; and Ernst, boys player of the year.

Others honored during the event were Gene Mileusnick with the Officials Appreciation Award and the Founders Award was presented to former Star Beacon Publisher Ed Looman.