Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday, October 4

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Friday:

SOCCER

Spain

Villarreal v Granada

Malaga v Osasuna

Villarreal eye third spot, Malaga host struggling Osasuna

BARCELONA - Promoted Villarreal can leapfrog Real Madrid into third with a win at home to Granada before 10th-placed Malaga host struggling Osasuna. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ expect by 2030 GMT/4.30 PM ET, by Braden Phillips, 400 words)

- -

Germany

Hanover v Hertha Berlin

Hanover look to continue good start

Fourth-placed Hanover 96 can close in on the top spots with a win over promoted Hertha Berlin with leaders Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich in action on Saturday.(SOCCER-GERMANY/, expect by 2030GMT/4.30 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 300 words)

- -

Netherlands

Cambuur v Twente Enschede

Twente can extend their lead in the Dutch Championship if they draw or win away against newly-promoted Cambuur. (SOCCER-DUTCH/, expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 250 words)

- -

Argentina

River Plate v Boca Juniors

River-Boca clash high risk despite away fans ban

BUENOS AIRES - The spectre of hooligan violence has overshadowed the build-up to the "Superclasico", the biggest club match on the Argentine calendar, when River Plate host Boca Juniors at the Monumental on Sunday. SOCCER-ARGENTINA/SUPERCLASICO (PREVIEW), moving at 1800GMT/2 PM ET, by Rex Gowar, 550 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Seve Trophy, St-Nom-la-Breteche, France (to 6)

Europe lead after opening day fourballs

PARIS - Continental Europe, captained by Jose Maria Olazabal, take a two-point lead into the second day. (GOLF-TROPHY/, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 350 words)

- -

Presidents Cup (to 6)

U.S. lead by a point heading into second day at Muirfield Village

DUBLIN, Ohio - Holders the United States, in pursuit of an eighth triumph against the Internationals in the biennial team competition, lead by 3-1/2 points to 2-1/2 going into Friday's foursomes matches at Muirfield Village Golf Club. (GOLF-PRESIDENTS/ (PIX), expect first story by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, Simon Evans and Julian Linden, 550 words)

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Korean Formula One Grand Prix (to 6)

Hamilton fastest in Korean practice

YEONGAM, South Korea - Lewis Hamilton kept championship leader Sebastian Vettel off the top of the timesheets in both Friday practice sessions for the Korean Formula One Grand Prix while Kimi Raikkonen slammed his Lotus into a tyre wall in the morning. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/PRACTICE (PIX), moved, by Alan Baldwin, 500 words)

- -

2014 calendar 'beyond the limit' for teams

Formula One's record 22 race calendar for 2014 is 'beyond the limit' for teams but looks likely to be trimmed before it becomes definitive, according to Red Bull team principal Christian Horner. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/CALENDAR (PIX), moved, by Alan Baldwin, 600 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: China Open, Beijing (to 6)

Nadal on brink of reclaiming top spot after Fognini scare

Rafa Nadal is one victory away from returning to the top of the world rankings after surviving a huge scare to beat Italian Fabio Fognini in the quarter-finals of the China Open on Friday. (TENNIS-MEN/CHINA, moved, 400 words).

- -

ATP: Japan Open, Tokyo (to 6)

Copy on merit

- - - -

GYMNASTICS

World championships, Antwerp (to 6)

Copy on merit

- - - -

BASEBALL

Pirates visit the Cardinals looking to level series

The Pittsburgh Pirates, in the postseason for the first time since 1992, visit the top-seeded St. Louis Cardinals for Game Two of the National League Division Series. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/STLOUIS (PIX), expect by 2030 GMT/4:30 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Red Sox clash with rival Rays at Fenway

The Tampa Bay Rays visit the American League East division rival Boston Red Sox Game One of the best-of-five AL Division Series. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/BOSTON (PIX), expect by 2245 GMT/6:45 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Dodgers and Braves resume NL division series

Zack Greinke takes the mound for the Los Angeles Dodgers against hosts Atlanta Braves, who will counter with Mike Minor, in Game Two of the National League Division Series. The Dodgers lead the best-of-five series 1-0. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/BRAVES (PIX), expect by 0145 GMT/9:45 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Tigers visit Athletics for series opener

Max Scherzer, who had a major league-leading 21 wins in the regular season, gets the start for the Detroit Tigers in the American League Division Series opener versus the host Oakland Athletics, who will send Bartolo Colon to the mound. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/ATHLETICS (PIX), expect by 0515 GMT/1:15 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

NHL

Young season enters first weekend of action

Highlights of Friday's regular season National Hockey League games. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (Duty editor: John O'Brien)

View Comments