Paret-Peintre seals first professional win on Giro stage

Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team's Valentin Paret-Peintre celebrates as he crosses the finish line to win stage 10
Valentin Paret-Peintre won the 142km route from Pompeii to Cusano Mutri in three hours and 43 minutes [Reuters]

France's Valentin Paret-Peintre claimed his first professional win on stage 10 of the Giro d'Italia.

The 23-year-old celebrated with his older brother Aurelien, who won stage four on the Giro last year and was fifth on Tuesday, at the finish line.

Slovenia's Jan Tratnik (Visma-Lease a Bike) looked set to win the stage after making a solo break with more than 30km to go.

However, he was caught by Paret-Peintre with less than 3km left after the Decathlon-AG2R La Mondiale launched a late attack on the final 18km climb of Bocca della Selva.

Tratnik was forced to settle for third as DSM-Firmenich PostNL's Romain Bardet made it a French one-two.

Meanwhile, Tadej Pogacar maintained his healthy lead over Colombia's Daniel Martinez and Great Britain's Geraint Thomas at the top of the overall standings.

Wednesday's stage 11 is a 207km route from Foiano di Val Fortore to Francavilla al Mare on the east coast of Italy.

Stage 10 results

  1. Valentin Paret-Peintre (Fra/Decathlon-AG2R La Mondiale) 3hrs 43mins 50secs

  2. Romain Bardet (Fra/DSM-Firmenich PostNL) +30secs

  3. Jan Tratnik (Slo/Visma-Lease a Bike) +1:00

  4. Andrea Bagioli (Ita/Lidl-Trek) +1:17

  5. Aurelien Paret-Peintre (Fra/Decathlon-AG2R La Mondiale) +1:24

  6. Simon Geschke (Ger/Cofidis) Same time

  7. Filippo Zana (Ita/Jayco-AlUla)

  8. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita/VF Group-Bardiani-CSF-Faizane)

  9. Nicola Conci (Ita/Alpecin-Deceuninck) +1:41

  10. Esteban Chaves (Col/EF Education-EasyPost) +1:56

Overall standings

  1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) 36hrs 48mins 8secs

  2. Daniel Martinez (Col/Bora-Hansgrohe) +2:40

  3. Geraint Thomas (GB/Ineos Grenadiers) +2:58

  4. Ben O'Connor (Aus/Decathlon-AG2R La Mondiale) +3:39

  5. Cian Uijtdebroeks (Bel/Visma-Lease a Bike) +4:15

  6. Antonio Tiberi (Ita/Bahrain Victorious) +4:27

  7. Romain Bardet (Fra/DSM-Firmenich PostNL) +4:57

  8. Lorenzo Fortunato (Ita/Astana-Qazaqstan Team) +5:19

  9. Filippo Zana (Ita/Jayco-AlUla) +5:23

  10. Einer Rubio (COL/ Movistar) +5:28