Auburn forward named to award watchlist

The Auburn basketball team is getting some looks before the start of the season this November.

In this case, Auburn power forward Johni Broome has been named to the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Watchlist. Entirely true to its name, the award is given at year’s end to the best power forward in the nation in Division I basketball.

Broome, who transferred from Morehead State this offseason, would be looking at a first should he win the award — no SEC player has won it in its nine years of existence thus far. He’s one of three players that will try on the watchlist, as LSU’s K.J. Williams and South Carolina’s G.G. Jackson have also been named to the watchlist. Last year’s winner was Iowa’s Keegan Murray.

The award is partially based on fan vote, where the current 20 members of the watchlist will be narrowed down to 10 and then five, after which a committee will pick the winner. Last year, Auburn’s Walker Kessler was a finalist for the award but was beat out by Murray.

Broome will get his first chance to make a bid for the award on Nov. 7 when the team tips off against George Mason for its first regular-season game of the year.


Everything Bruce Pearl said at SEC media day

Story originally appeared on Auburn Wire