2023-24 BVarsity All-Area Boys Basketball team

Players of the year

Nate Becerra, North, senior: South Yosemite Mountain League co-player of the year averaged 17.1 points and 9.7 rebounds to lead the Stars to the program’s first Central Section championship game, winning the Division-III title with a dramatic overtime victory over Tollhouse-Sierra. He had 23 points and nine rebounds in an upset win at San Pedro that pushed his team into the Southern California Regional Division-V final.

Rippen Gill, Centennial, senior: South Yosemite River League player of the year averaged 18.7 points, 7.8 rebounds, 3.7 assists, 4.1 steals and 1.4 blocks per to help lead Golden Hawks to SYRL and SoCal Regional Division-II titles before losing in the CIF State Division II final. He had 27 points on 12 of 14 from the field in a victory over Los Angeles-King Drew in the SoCal Regional semifinals.

Coaches of the year

Hernan Santiago, Centennial: Returned to the Golden Hawks’ bench after a brief hiatus and led the team to a 28-8 record, and South Yosemite River League and Southern California Regional Division II titles before losing in the state championship game to Oakland Tech. In a year of firsts, the team won its first state playoff game, its first regional championship and advanced to its first state final.

A.J. Shearon, North: Guided the Stars to a 29-7 record and their first Central Section championship, in the program’s first appearance, winning the D-III crown with a dramatic overtime win over Tollhouse-Sierra, advancing to the SoCal Regional Division V title game. The team had a 17-game winning streak and didn’t lose a game for the entire month of January.

First team

Donquavius Bolton, Centennial, senior: First-team South Yosemite River League averaged 9.4 points, 5.1 rebounds and 2.1 steals to help team reach state D-II final.

Zach Garnett, Frontier, junior: First-team South Yosemite River League averaged 18.2 points, 11.2 rebounds, 1.2 steals and two blocks for the Titans.

Gabriel Gutierrez, BCHS, junior: Co-South Yosemite Valley League player of the year averaged 17.8 points, 3.9 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 2.7 steals per game.

Lance Haworth, Highland, senior: First-team South Yosemite Valley League averaged 23 points, seven rebounds and five assists per game for the Scots.

Amarius Rowel, Independence, junior: First-team South Yosemite Valley League averaged 20 points, 2.3 rebounds and 1.8 assists to lead the Falcons.

Ethan Saenz, North, freshman: SYML rookie of the year averaged 14.4 points, 5.2 assists and 3.8 rebounds per game to lead Stars to SoCal Regional D-V final.

Jaxton Santiago, Centennial, senior: First-team SYRL averaged 5.5 points, 7.9 rebounds, 5.8 assists, 4.5 steals and 1.0 block to help Golden Hawks to state D-II final.

Deshawn Usochu, Liberty, senior: First team South Yosemite River League averaged 17.9 points, 10.1 rebounds, 4.8 assists, 3.2 steals and 1.0 blocks for Patriots.

Bentley Waller, BCHS, senior: Co-South Yosemite Valley League player of the year averaged 20.3 points, 5.9 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.7 steals per game.

Clifford Willis, South, sophomore: Co-South Yosemite Mountain League player of the year averaged 10 points, three assists, four rebounds and three steals per game.

Second team

Malachi Davis, McFarland, freshman

Godwill Fomusoh, Centennial, senior

Asher Garde, Garces, junior

Elias Griffin, North, junior

Michael Gutierrez, Centennial, junior

Jovarie Hayden, Ridgeview, senior

Kade Johnson, Stockdale, sophomore

Jesus Martinez, Chavez, senior

Blaine Neudorf, Taft, senior

Luke Taylor, Garces, senior

Third team

Jotham Amodo, Delano, sophomore

Andrew Arredondo, Rosamond, senior

Diego Cabrera, Foothill, senior

Chauncey Carter, South, junior

Miguel Ceja, Golden Valley, senior

Anthony Cerbantez, Tehachapi, junior

Gavin Christian, South, sophomore

Wyatt Haner, North, junior

Bryce Hanson, Garces, freshman

Damarion James, Mira Monte, senior

Derek Jimenez, Liberty, sophomore

Cameron James Macauag, Ridgeview, senior

Shaun Maldonado, Shafter, senior

Drew Minnear, Bakersfield Christian, junior

Kamren Owens, Bakersfield, sophomore

Eddie Ramey III, South, freshman

Fabian Robles, Rosamond, sophomore

Ibrahim Shuwait, Delano, senior

Fred Stokes, West, senior

James Tanner, Independence, senior

Honorable mention

Carson Acevedo, Garces, junior

Nick Andrade, Taft, sophomore

Rudy Ballardo, Wasco, senior

Peyton Beltran, Frontier, sophomore

Rogelio Benavides, Chavez, senior

Cassius Brown, California City, freshman

Darrius Brown, California City, sophomore

Micah Bryant, East, senior

Jaymar Buton, Kennedy, sophomore

Cade Campos, Chavez, senior

Deontre Campos, Kennedy, sophomore

Leonardo Cano Rizo, Arvin, senior

Aidan Cardenas, Shafter, junior

Armando Castruita, Highland, senior

Dominic Contreras, Bakersfield, junior

Dallin Crawford, Frontier, junior

Taiwo Daramola, Bakersfield Christian, freshman

Damari Davis, Liberty, senior

Brooks Dawson, Stockdale, senior

Jaiyon Dixon, West, senior

Joey Galvan, Kern Valley, junior

Alize Garcia, Kennedy, junior

Cameron Gomez, Rosamond, sophomore

Matthew Guerrero, Mira Monte, senior

Mathew Guevara, Immanuel Christian, sophomore

Thomas Guevara, Immanuel Christian, sophomore

Zachary Guevara, Immanuel Christian, senior

Kevin Hart, Desert, sophomore

Cameron Hernandez, South, freshman

Jorge Hernandez, McFarland, junior

Nicholas Hickey, Boron, senior

Rodrick Hodges, Centennial, junior

Devin Jackson, Tehachapi, junior

Ty’Ron Jones, California City, senior

Cory Kent, Burroughs, junior

Jeremias Killebrew, Bakersfield Christian, freshman

Ernest Laulu, Taft, junior

Sean LeBlanc-Grappendorf, Centennial, senior

Troy Lei, Bakersfield Christian, senior

Davian Leon, Independence, junior

Elijah Lopez, Wasco, junior

Josue Lopez-Perez, Del Oro, sophomore

Juan Lopez, Delano, senior

Jesus Martinez, McFarland, senior

Joey Miranda, McFarland, senior

Santana Morales, Chavez, senior

Aiden Morillo, Liberty, senior

Cole O’Brien, Liberty, senior

Alex Pacheco, Rosamond, senior

Chase Phillips, Taft, senior

Drew Pinzon, McFarland, senior

Jacob Ramos, East, senior

Daran Rogers, Desert, junior

Trevor Rowland, Burroughs, sophomore

Fernando Sarabia, Foothill, junior

Dominic Sellers, Burroughs, senior

Kevin Soto, Golden Valley, senior

Allen Stone, Arvin, senior

David Vasquez, North, senior

James Webster, South, senior

Malique White, Ridgeview, senior

Boden Williams, Desert, senior

Acen Zuniga, Liberty, sophomore