What's buzzing:

Quarterbacks dominate Walter Camp semifinalists

The SportsXchange

Ten quarterbacks are among the 15 semifinalists announced Wednesday for the Walter Camp Award.

Included on the list are freshman sensation quarterback Jameis Winston of unbeaten Florida State and 2012 Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M.

Three defensive players -- UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr, Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley and Missouri defensive end Michael Sam -- made the cut.

The award, voted on by FBS coaches and sports information directors, goes to the nation's top player. Last year's winner of Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o.

The others on this year's list are Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd, Louisville quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, Arizona running back Ka'Deem Carey, Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr, Texas A&M wide receiver Mike Evans, Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron, Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller and Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty.

The SEC has five semifinalists, followed by the Pac-12 with three.
Daily Fantasy
View Comments (1)