Watching this Dustin Brown hit to the head of Jason Pominville of the Minnesota Wild on Tuesday night, one question comes to mind: How did they miss it?
How did two referees and two linesmen miss the Los Angeles Kings captain sending his elbow (or slightly above it) into the noggin of the onrushing Pominville, who didn’t return to the game after the hit?
Michael Russo of the Star Tribune didn’t mince words:
Brown, who amazingly has never been suspended, does this time and time again and somehow gets away with it. I was told today by a league source that he came “very close” to getting suspended for what I thought was a very dirty elbow on Dallas’ Antoine Roussel two nights ago.
We’ll see if he gets away this one. He didn’t brace himself. He swung his elbow sneakily into Pominville’s face, and even though Yeo didn’t provide a report postgame with the dreaded “C” word, it sure looked like it. Frankly, and maybe one reason why Yeo was restrained after the game, the Wild probably doesn’t want L.A.’s captain suspended. The Kings play in Detroit on Wednesday.
Should the NHL give Brown a suspension?
Here’s the Roussel hit from Sunday’s game against the Stars:
“I haven’t seen it yet, but I had the puck on my stick. He’s coming to hit me. I’m just bracing myself. Almost the reverse. I don’t know. Like I said, I haven’t seen it.”
Even though the Wild would prefer to see him in the lineup against Detroit, it’s hard to imagine Brown avoiding suspension for that hit on Pominville. It’s reckless.