Three Kernels, several area athletes included on South Dakota high school all-star football rosters

May 31—VERMILLION, S.D. — Three Mitchell Kernels and nearly a dozen other area football standouts are among the athletes set to compete in the annual South Dakota high school all-star football game on June 11 at the DakotaDome.

Jace Larson (WR/DB), Joe Van Overschelde (FB/DB) and Tucker Vilhauer (RB/LB) will represent Mitchell, with head coach Kent Van Overschelde serving in the same role on the Blue Team.

Platte-Geddes and Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central each send a pair to the Blue Team roster. Grayson Hanson (RB/LB) and Jackson Neuman (RB/DB) represent the back-to-back Class 9AA champion Black Panthers, while Clay Olinger (RB/DB) and Mason Schelske (TE/DE) do the same for the Blackhawks.

Burke's Taron Serr (RB/LB), McCook Central/Montrose's Micah Van Ruler (OL/DL) and Corsica-Stickney's Caden VanDrongelen (FB/DB) will also compete for the Blue Team.

Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan's Griffith VanLeur will be on the coaching staff assisting Kent Van Overschelde.

On the other side, Howard's Pat Ruml will lead the Red Team and is joined by three players — Ty Beyer (RB/LB), John Callies (FB/LB) and Jace Sifore (TE/DE) — from the Tigers' 2021 state championship squad.

Lyman's Colton Collins (RB/LB) will also be on the Red Team roster.

Here are the complete rosters and coaching staffs for both all-star teams:

Blue Team

Head coach: Kent VanOverschelde, Mitchell

Assistant coaches: Kim Nelson, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Clayton Randall, Herreid/Selby Area; Griffith VanLeur, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan; Ed Whiting, Sioux Falls Jefferson

Roster: Brady Koupal, Brandon Valley; Noah Thompson, Brandon Valley; Brock Longville, Brookings; Taron Serr, Burke; Payton Eben, Canton; Isaac Suter, Canton; Caden VanDrongelen, Corsica-Stickney; Landon Ruesink, Dell Rapids; Andrew Gustad, Gayville-Volin; Kyle Hirsch, Gayville-Volin; Trevor Sayler, Herreid/Selby Area; Trey Sayler, Herreid/Selby Area; Jayden Beck, Huron; Benjamin Gustafson, Langford Area; Camden Buchholtz, Madison; Nathan Ricke, Madison; Micah Van Ruler, McCook Central/Montrose; Jace Larson, Mitchell; Joe Van Overschelde, Mitchell; Tucker Vilhauer, Mitchell; Brady Bauer, Mobridge-Pollock; Ashton Pfitzer, Mobridge-Pollock; Grayson Hanson, Platte-Geddes; Jackson Neuman, Platte-Geddes; Matthew Hanson, Pierre; Cooper Logan, Potter County; Sean Domke, Redfield; David Alpers, Sioux Falls O'Gorman; Rush Landry, Sioux Falls O'Gorman; Emanuel Struck, Sioux Falls O'Gorman; Lane Ferguson, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; De'Andre Joseph, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Pierce Miller, Spearfish; Jesse Schall, Sully Buttes; Jordan Schall, Sully Buttes; Isaac McFarland, Tri-Valley; Dawson Hanson, Warner; Braden Dierickx, West Central; Gavin Koch, West Central; Marrien Gohn, Wolsey-Wessington; Clay Olinger, WWSSC; Mason Schelske, WWSSC

Red Team

Head coach: Pat Ruml, Howard

Assistant coaches: Chad Williamson, Colman-Egan; Matthew Luze, Lennox; Dan Hughes, Sioux Valley; Brady Muth, Yankton

Roster: Brady Rohrbach, Aberdeen Central; Alec Voegele, Aberdeen Central; Corbin Wirkus, Baltic; Aidan McCarty, Belle Fourche; Ashton Tjaden, Beresford; Gage Tennyson, Custer; Brodey Ballinger, Dakota Valley; Evan Van Scoyk, Dakota Valley; Colt Wilkinson, De Smet; John Pica, Dell Rapids St. Mary; Chase Kelly, Florence/Henry; Gabriel Johnson, Garretson; Dylan Kindt, Garretson; Michael Stevenson, Hamlin; Ty Beyer, Howard; John Callies, Howard; Jace Sifore, Howard; Dawson Johnke, Irene-Wakonda; Tell Mollman, Lemmon; Talon Trogstad, Lemmon; Jackson Arlt, Lennox; Steven Christion, Lennox; Colton Collins, Lyman; Richard Albers, New Underwood; Will Matson, Oldham-Ramona/Rutland; Eli Oxner, Rapid City Stevens; Johnny Cooper, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Cody Egger, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Kobe Lage, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Aiden Brink, Sioux Falls Washington; Josh Piper, Sioux Falls Washington; Carson Christopherson, Sioux Valley; Damian Danzeisen, Sioux Valley; Parker Puetz, Sioux Valley; Konner Berndt, Sturgis; Hunter Harrison, Sturgis; Hank Kraft, Timber Lake; Jayce Lawrence, Timber Lake; Zach Brady, Vermillion; Jack Kratz, Vermillion; Max Raab, Yankton; Bodie Rutledge, Yankton; Cameron Zahrbock, Yankton.