NCAA Division I women’s college golf postseason gets regional shake-up

·1 min read

On Wednesday it was announced that a request from the NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Committee to move to a six-regional format was approved by the NCAA Competition Oversight Committee. The change will go into effect for this upcoming spring’s championship, May 20-25 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Each regional site will now be comprised of 12 teams and six individuals. The top four teams and top two individuals (not on an advancing team) will qualify for the championship. According to a release from the NCAA, “72 teams will still qualify for regional play, with the number of individuals not on an advancing team increasing from 24 to 36.”

“The additional individual championship playing opportunities is exciting, and the smaller field sizes at the six regional sites positively addresses the concerns related to the checkpoint pace of play system at regionals and allows for additional flexibility in inclement weather situations,” said Julie Manning, chair of the Division I Women’s Golf Committee and deputy athletics director and senior woman administrator at Minnesota via a release.

“It’s the right move for the championship.”

Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings: Women’s team | Women’s individual


ANNIKA Award: Final fall watch list for the 2021-22 season

Four sites were already announced to host regional events, May 9-11

  • The Championship Course at UNM in Albuquerque, New Mexico

  • University of Michigan Golf Course in Ann Arbor, Michigan

  • Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma

  • Seminole Legacy Golf Club Tallahassee, Florida

Bidding for the final two sites is expected to begin in early November, with the sites to be announced in January.