Fairview, Gibsland-Coleman headline LSWA Class C squads

For the past two years, the only Class C teams represented in the Division V semifinals on the non-select side are Fairview and Gibsland-Coleman.

So, it comes as no surprise that both schools are highly represented on the Class C all-state basketball teams, as selected by a panel of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

For the second consecutive year, Fairview swept the top honors as junior Reesie Jinks repeated as the outstanding player, while her father and Lady Panther coach, Kyle Jinks, was voted coach of the year.

Jinks, a 5-foot-5 junior point guard, averaged 21.4 points, 9.2 assists, 4.4 rebounds and 3.1 steals per game, leading Fairview to the Division V Non-Select state championship in a thrilling 81-78 win over Hicks. Jinks was also the title game's outstanding player as she scored 39 points in the contest.

Kyle Jinks completed the season by capturing the 13th state championship victory of his legendary career as he inches closer to career win No. 1,000, needing 18 to reach that plateau.

On the boys' side, the Gibsland-Coleman duo of junior guard DeAvery Durham and coach Roger Jones swept the top honors as well.

Durham, who led the Bulldogs to the Division V semifinals, averaged 21 points, four rebounds and three steals per contest on the way to winning outstanding player honors. In a semifinal loss to Anacoco, Durham poured in 29 points.

Jones earns the nod as top coach after leading Gibsland-Coleman back to the Division V Non-Select state tournament, the only Class C school to accomplish that feat the past two seasons.

ALL-AREA BOYS: Meet the 2023-24 Shreveport Times All-Area boys’ basketball team

ALL-CITY BOYS: Meet the 2023-24 Shreveport Times All-City boys’ high school basketball team

Gibsland-Coleman's Samora Sampson drives to the net against Huntington.
Gibsland-Coleman's Samora Sampson drives to the net against Huntington.

ALL-AREA GIRLS: Meet the 2023-24 Shreveport Times All-Area girls’ basketball team


Boys first team

Player School Ht. Cl Avg.

DeAvery Durham, Gibsland-Coleman, 5-9, So., 21.0

Kadyn Collins, Ebarb, 6-4, Sr., 20.3

Aidan Sandifer, Singer, 6-0, Sr., 19.3

Rondell Battle, Phoenix, 6-2, So., 28.4

Kevin Scott, Pleasant Hill, 5-10, Jr., 17.1

Second team

Player School Ht. Cl Avg.

DeMarquis Durham, Gibsland-Coleman, 5-11, So., 15.0

Kaleb Gregory, Claiborne-Christian, 5-11, Jr., 30.5

Parker Alexander, Hornbeck, 5-9, Jr., 18.0

Logan Riggs, Georgetown, 6-2, Jr., 17.8

Nathan Fee, Plainview, 5-6, Sr., 20.2

Outstanding Player: Deavery Durham, Gibsland-Coleman

Coach of the Year: Roger Jones, Gibsland-Coleman

Honorable mention

Beau Austin, Evans; Caleb Bevill, Calvin; Cole Doucet, Starks; Montrell Woods, Jehovah-Jireh; Eli Ferguson, Saline; Lane Gray, Hackberry; Dalt Goode, Fairview.

Girls first team

Player School Ht. Cl Avg.

Reesie Jinks, Fairview, 5-5, Jr., 21.4

Ella Reeves, Fairview, 5-7, Sr., 20.0

Baleigh Haulcy, Gibsland-Coleman, 5-11, Jr., 18.0

Cameron Sutton, Plainview, 5-8, Jr., 17.0

Lauren Rachal, Family Christian, 5-5, Sr., 16.0

Second team

Player School Ht. Cl Avg.

A.J. Williams, Fairview, 5-8, Jr., 12.0

Allie Wainwright, Claiborne Christian, 5-10, Jr., 16.5

Samora Sampson, Gibsland-Coleman, 6-0, Jr., 12.0

Jaida Davis, Hornbeck, 5-6, Jr., 15.8

Olivia Edwards, Simpson, 5-4, Fr., 17.8

Outstanding Player: Reesie Jinks, Fairview

Coach of the Year: Kyle Jinks, Fairview

Honorable mention

Sadie Jeane, Evans; Jamiya Addison, Phoenix; Tayla Holloway, Starks; Chloe Logue, Singer; Kierra Wilson, Summerfield; Catherine Womack, Calvin; Aaliyah Gaddis, Family Christian.

This article originally appeared on Shreveport Times: Here's the LSWA Class C All-State boys and girls basketball teams