2022 NASCAR Cup Series Silly Season tracker

·4 min read
2022 NASCAR Cup Series Silly Season tracker

Driver movement is coming fast and furious over the course of the 2021 season, providing a preview of the 2022 landscape that so far includes an Xfinity Series powerhouse wading into the Cup Series full time, a team in its first season purchasing a longtime organization, a championship crew chief stepping down from atop the pit box and plenty more rumors swirling as the season charges on.

Our 2022 Silly Season Tracker is below, listing what we know for full-time Cup Series teams in 2022. We’ll update this page often, as teams finalize their plans for next season. Anything highlighted in red indicates news on that driver and ride for beyond 2021, and clicking on the red line will give you more information on the move and its impact.



Crew Chief



Ross Chastain

Phil Surgen

Trackhouse Racing Team

Chastain lands in the second car at Trackhouse. He had been at Chip Ganassi Racing, which sold its NASCAR operations to Trackhouse in June. Crew chief Phil Surgen will also make the move over and remain teamed with Chastain.


Austin Cindric

Jeremy Bullins

Team Penske

Team Penske has announced that Austin Cindric will make the jump to the Cup Series full-time to pilot the No. 2 car in 2022.


Austin Dillon

Justin Alexander

Richard Childress Racing


Kevin Harvick

Rodney Childers

Stewart-Haas Racing


Kyle Larson

Cliff Daniels

Hendrick Motorsports

Kyle Larson signed a contract extension with Hendrick Motorsports that goes through the 2023 season and includes majority sponsorship from HendrickCars.com.


Brad Keselowski

Matt McCall

RFK Racing

Roush announced that Brad Keselowski will come on board in 2022 in a driver-ownership role and will drive the No. 6, a seat held by Ryan Newman in 2021. Matt McCall will be the team\"s crew chief.


Corey LaJoie

Ryan Sparks

Spire Motorsports


Tyler Reddick

Randall Burdett

Richard Childress Racing


Chase Elliott

Alan Gustafson

Hendrick Motorsports


Aric Almirola

Mike Bugarewicz

Stewart-Haas Racing


Denny Hamlin

Chris Gabehart

Joe Gibbs Racing


Ryan Blaney

Jonathan Hassler

Team Penske

Todd Gordon, Blaney\"s crew chief, has announced he will retire from Team Penske at the end of the 2021 season. Jonathan Hassler, who has been the crew chief for the second half of the season on the No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford team, will call the shots in \"22.


Chase Briscoe

Johnny Klausmeier

Stewart-Haas Racing


Justin Haley


Kaulig Racing

Kaulig Racing has announced it will be running full time in the Cup Series in 2022, with Justin Haley piloting the entry.


Chris Buescher

Scott Graves

RFK Racing

Graves was the crew chief for the final five races of 2021 for the No. 17 team. He will be in charge of that team for 2022. Buescher and Graves teamed for the 2015 Xfinity Series title.


Kyle Busch

Ben Beshore

Joe Gibbs Racing


Martin Truex Jr.

James Small

Joe Gibbs Racing


Christopher Bell

Adam Stevens

Joe Gibbs Racing


Harrison Burton

Brian Wilson

Wood Brothers Racing

Wood Brothers Racing has announced that Harrison Burton will be their full-time driver for the 2022 season in the No. 21 Ford Mustang. Brian Wilson moves over from Team Penske\"s Xfinity program to lead the team.


Joey Logano

Paul Wolfe

Team Penske


Bubba Wallace

Robert “Bootie” Barker

23XI Racing

Barker entered the new role in September as Wallace\"s crew chief and guided the organization to its first win at Talladega Superspeedway, doubling as Wallace\"s first Cup Series victory.


William Byron

Rudy Fugle

Hendrick Motorsports


Michael McDowell

Drew Blickensderfer

Front Row Motorsports

McDowell will return for his fifth season at Front Row.


Todd Gilliland

Seth Barbour

Front Row Motorsports

Gilliland will replace Anthony Alfredo who leaves after one season in the ride. Gilliland moves up following two seasons with Front Row\"s truck operation.


Cole Custer

Mike Shiplett

Stewart-Haas Racing


Erik Jones

Dave Elenz

Richard Petty Motorsports

Erik Jones announced he will return to the Richard Petty Motorsports No. 43 Chevrolet in 2022. Elenz will be the team\"s new crew chief coming over from JR Motorsports where he has was a two-time Xfinity Series champion crew chief. The majority interest of RPM is being sold to GMS Racing owner Maury Gallagher and with that comes the charters that belong to the Nos. 43 and 51.


Kurt Busch

Billy Scott

23XI Racing

Busch will be heading to the No. 45 23XI Racing Toyota for the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season as he will drive for the Michael Jordan-Denny Hamlin co-owned organization. Cup Series veteran Billy Scott, who spent the 2016-19 seasons with Stewart-Haas Racing, will be the crew chief. Busch and Scott got a win together in 2018.


Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Brian Pattie

JTG Daugherty Racing

Stenhouse confirmed at the end of September that he signed a one-year extension to return to the No. 47 in 2022. Team co-owner Brad Daugherty earlier revealed that the organization will be fielding only one car in 2022.


Alex Bowman

Greg Ives

Hendrick Motorsports

Alex Bowman signed a two-year contract extension with Hendrick Motorsports.


B.J. McLeod

Frank Kerr

Live Fast Motorsports


Ty Dillon

Jerame Donley

GMS Racing

Dillon returns to the Cup Series as the first full-time driver for GMS Racing in the premier series. Former Ganassi engineer Donley will be atop the pit box -- a position he is new to.


Daniel Suarez

Travis Mack

Trackhouse Racing Team

Daniel Suarez will remain at Trackhouse as it adds a second car to the team with the purchase of Chip Ganassi Racing.