Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Wednesday, July 2

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Wednesday:

- - - -

SOCCER

WORLD CUP (to 13)

Sluggish Brazil must improve against Colombia and Rodriguez

FORTALEZA, Brazil - After their laboured win over Chile in a penalty shootout, Brazil need to step up a gear when they face Colombia and their free-scoring midfielder James Rodriguez in the World Cup quarter-finals on Friday (SOCCER-WORLD/M57-PREVIEW, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET), by Gideon Long, 500 words)

See also (SOCCER-WORLD/M57-BRA-COL (FACTBOX))

- -

France and Germany braced for first big Cup showdown

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil - European heavyweights France and Germany meet in the World Cup quarter-finals reviving one of the tournament's great rivalries and pitting two of the most attacking teams against each other. (SOCCER-WORLD/M58-FRA-GER (PREVIEW), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 450 words)

See also (SOCCER-WORLD/M58-FRA-GER (FACTBOX)

- -

We will also be running a separate World Cup Schedule at various times throughout the day for the duration of the tournament, offering previews, spot news, reports and analysis from our team in Brazil. (SPORTS-NEWS-SCHEDULE-UNPLANNED)

- - - -

TENNIS

WIMBLEDON (to 5)

Murray takes on Dimitrov on quarter-finals day

LONDON - The men's quarter-finals are the highlight of the day with defending champion Andy Murray taking on Grigor Dimitrov before Roger Federer faces Stanislas Wawrinka in an all-Swiss affair. Novak Djokovic and rising Australian Nick Kyrgios are also in action. The final two women's quarter-finals will open play on the main showcourts. (TENNIS-WIMBLEDON/ (PIX), expect from 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, by Martyn Herman, Pritha Sarkar, Clare Lovell, 800 words)

- - - -

GOLF

PGA Tour:

Greenbrier Classic, White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia

Watson seeks third victory of season

World number three and U.S. Masters champion Bubba Watson heads the field in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia where the American will bid for his third PGA Tour victory of the year. We preview the event won last year by Swede Jonas Blixt. (GOLF-PGA/ (PREVIEW), moved, 400 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Contador ready to take on Froome for Tour crown

PARIS - If last year's Tour de France often resembled a triumphant Chris Froome march to Paris, the road to the Champs Elysees may be more unpredictable this time especially with Alberto Contador likely to be back in the hunt. (CYCLING-TOUR/ (PREVIEW), moving at 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Julien Pretot, 850 words)

We will also move details of this year's route, a list of previous winners and penpix of the leading title contenders.

CYCLING-TOUR/WINNERS

CYCLING-TOUR/ROUTE

CYCLING-TOUR/PENPIX

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

British Formula One Grand Prix preview

Hamilton hopes for a change of fortune at Silverstone

SILVERSTONE, England - It has been six years since Lewis Hamilton won his home Grand Prix and he needs a change of fortune more than ever this weekend with Mercedes team mate Nico Rosberg 29 points clear in the championship. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/(PREVIEW, PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 500 words)

We will also move a drivers' form sheet and statistics for Sunday's race.

- - - -

BASEBALL

Hutchison strikes out 10 batters as Blue Jays beat Brewers

Drew Hutchison struck out a career-best 10 while Jose Bautista and Colby Rasmus hit home runs as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), moved, by The Sports Xchange, 875 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

- - - - (Asia duty editor: John O'Brien)

Sign up for Yahoo Fantasy Soccer
View Comments (0)