Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Saturday, October 5

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Saturday:

- - - -

SOCCER

Premier League

Cardiff City v Newcastle United (1400)

Fulham v Stoke City (1400)

Hull City v Aston Villa (1400)

Liverpool v Crystal Palace (1400)

Sunderland v Manchester United (1630)

Man City beat Everton, United bid to stop rot at Sunderland

LONDON - Manchester City beat Everton 3-1 before Manchester United try to avoid a third consecutive Premier League defeat when they visit managerless Sunderland. Liverpool can return to the top of the table with a win at home to Crystal Palace. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), moved, by Stephen Wood, 700 words)

- -

La Liga

Elche v Espanyol (1400)

Rayo Vallecano v Real Sociedad (1600)

Levante v Real Madrid (1800)

Barcelona v Real Valladolid (2000)

Barca look to stay perfect against Real Valladolid

MADRID - Barcelona look to retain their 100 percent record and go three points clear at the top at home to Real Valladolid while Real Madrid will try to rebound at Levante after last weekend's defeat to city rivals Atletico. (SOCCER-SPAIN/, expect by 1615 GMT/12:15 PM ET, by Iain Rogers, 600 words)

- -

Bundesliga

Borussia Moenchengladbach v Borussia Dortmund (1330)

Mainz v Hoffenheim (1330)

Schalke 04 v FC Augsburg (1330)

VfB Stuttgart v Werder Bremen (1330)

VfL Wolfsburg v Eintracht Braunschweig (1330)

Bayer Leverkusen v Bayern Munich (1630)

Dortmund and Bayern face away days

BERLIN - Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich, separated by goal difference at the top of the table, travel to Borussia Moenchengladbach and Bayer Leverkusen respectively. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

- -

Serie A

Chievo Verona v Atalanta Bergamo (1600)

Inter Milan v AS Roma (1845)

Roma aim to maintain perfect run

ROME - Leaders Roma, who have a 100 percent record from their six games this season, face a tough trip to fourth-placed Inter while Chievo Verona host fellow strugglers Atalanta. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect by 2045 GMT/4:45 PM ET, by Terry Daley, 450 words)

- -

Ligue 1

Monaco v St Etienne (1500)

En Avant Guingamp v Stade Rennes (1800)

Nantes v Evian Thonon Gaillard FC (1800)

Lille v Ajaccio (1800)

Toulouse v Nice (1800)

Valenciennes v Stade de Reims (1800)

St Etienne next for pacesetting Monaco

PARIS - Leaders Monaco host seventh-placed St Etienne while Lille, who are fourth, entertain lowly Ajaccio. (SOCCER-FRANCE/, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 300 words)

- -

Dutch championship

Go Ahead Eagles Deventer v NEC Nijmegen (1745)

Roda JC Kerkrade v PEC Zwolle (1745)

NAC Breda v Heracles Almelo (1845)

Copy on merit

- -

African Champions League semi-finals, first leg

Coton Sport v Al Ahli (1400)

Orlando Pirates v Esperance (1600)

Al Ahli and Esperance tipped to go through

CAPE TOWN - Al Ahli of Egypt and Tunisia's Esperance are the favourites to go through to next month's final. (SOCCER-AFRICA/CHAMPIONS, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

- - - -

OLYMPICS

Russia receives flame for Sochi Winter Games

ATHENS - The Olympic flame that will burn during the Sochi Winter Games is formally handed over to Russia in the marble stadium that hosted the first modern Games in 1896 (OLYMPICS-FLAME/HANDOVER/ (PIX,TV) expect by 1700, by Karolina Tagaris, 350 words)

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Korean Formula One Grand Prix (to 6)

Vettel takes pole position

YEONGAM, South Korea - Red Bull's Formula One world champion Sebastian Vettel claimed pole position for the third time in a row as he seeks to win in Korea for the third time in succession. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/ (PIX), moved, by Alan Baldwin, 500 words)

- - - -

BOXING

Putin will watch Klitschko world title bout

MOSCOW - World heavyweight champion Vladimir Klitschko takes on local hero Alexander Povetkin in front of a 14,000 crowd that will include Russian President Vladimir Putin. (BOXING-KLITSCHKO/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 350 words)

- - - -

RUGBY

Rugby Championship

South Africa v New Zealand

Four tries is the target for Springboks

JOHANNESBURG - South Africa need to score four tries and beat the All Blacks by seven points at Ellis Park if they are snatch the title away from the world champions. (RUGBY-CHAMPIONSHIP/SAFRICA (PIX), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

- -

Argentina v Australia (2240)

Wallabies hope to avoid wooden spoon

ROSARIO, Argentina - Australia, determined to win and avoid ending up with the wooden spoon, meet Argentina in Rosario. (RUGBY-CHAMPIONSHIP/ARGENTINA (PIX), expect by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, by Rex Gowar, 500 words)

- - - -

GOLF

Presidents Cup (to 6)

DUBLIN, Ohio - With Phil Mickelson and Keegan Bradley setting the tone, the United States remained one point in front of the Internationals when Friday's weather-hit foursomes were suspended for the day at the Presidents Cup. (GOLF-PRESIDENTS/ moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 400 words)

- -

Seve Trophy, St-Nom-la-Breteche, France (to 6)

Europe edge ahead after opening two days

PARIS - Continental Europe, captained by Jose Maria Olazabal, take a one-point lead over Sam Torrance's Britain and Ireland side into the third day. (GOLF-TROPHY/, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 350 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP/WTA: China Open, Beijing (to 6)

Nadal on brink of reclaiming top spot

Rafa Nadal will return to the top of the world rankings if he can beat fourth seed Tomas Berdych in the semi-finals. (TENNIS-MEN/CHINA, expect by 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, 400 words)

- -

ATP: Japan Open, Tokyo (to 6)

Copy on merit

- - - -

RALLYING

Rally of France

Copy on merit

- - - -

GYMNASTICS

World championships, Antwerp (to 6)

Copy on merit

- - - -

BASEBALL

Red Sox seek 2-0 lead over Rays

The Boston Red Sox will turn to right-hander John Lackey as they go for a second consecutive win against Tampa Bay in their American League Division Series. Former Cy Young Award winner David Price will start for the Rays. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/BOSTON (PIX), expect by 0115 GMT/9:15 PM ET, 400 words)

- - -

Verlander to start for Tigers at Oakland

Right-hander Justin Verlander is expected to be on the mound for the Detroit Tigers as they meet the host Oakland Athletics in Game Two of their American League Division Series.(BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/ATHLETICS (PIX), expect by 0515 GMT/1:15 AM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

NHL

A busy first Saturday for NHL teams

Highlights of Saturday's regular season National Hockey League games. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

(Duty editor:)

View Comments