A 5-on-3 power play in double overtime of a Stanley Cup Playoff game comes around about as often as a Maple Leafs championship parade float, but the Chicago Blackhawks nearly earned one at the St. Louis Blues on Thursday night.
With Ryan Reaves already in the Blues' penalty box for delay of game, the Blues cleared the puck over the glass in their own end while on the penalty kill, for what should have been a delay of game penalty.
The on-ice officials mulled it over. The players waited around. The refs eventually ruled that the Blues shouldn’t be penalized. And Blackhawks coach Joel Quenneville disagreed … ahem, quite emphatically.
Yes, he was truly honkin’ mad.
That was some Travolta quality disco pointing from Coach Q before his stickhandling exhibition. Must be the mustache.
No doubt the NHL will have something to say about Quenneville’s handful ending up on national television. And we’re pretty sure we know what his response will be …