The league announced Wednesday evening that the Coyotes forward would be sitting for Game 3 on Thursday night after his hit from behind on Kings captain Dustin Brown. Hanzal was given a five-minute major and game misconduct for the hit midway through the third period.
Here's Brendan Shanahan with the explanation:
Anytime a player makes a hit like Hanzal's so far away from the boards it's going to warrant a review. Fortunately for Brown, he wasn't injured on the play, but despite that factoring in in other rulings, here it's an easy call considering how ugly the hit was.
Is one game enough or would you like to see a stiffer penalty for these types of hits?
Follow Sean Leahy on Twitter at @Sean_Leahy