Bristol Truck starting lineup: Derek Kraus wins pole

·1 min read

Derek Kraus scored his fourth career pole win Thursday afternoon and will start first in Thursday night’s 200-lap Camping World Truck Series race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Kraus edged Chandler Smith, whose lap was .003 of a second slower than Kraus’ time. Kraus ran 125.609 mph, while Smith’s lap was 125.584.

Completing the top five were Stewart Friesen, Grant Enfinger and Corey Heim.

Two playoff contenders missed the qualifying session. John Hunter Nemechek damaged his truck in a meeting with the wall in practice and moved to a backup truck, and Zane Smith‘s truck was sidelined by mechanical issues.

Thursday night’s race begins the Round of 8 for the Truck Series. Eight drivers remain in the chase for the series championship.

MORE: Bristol Truck starting lineup

The Round of 8 will include two other races — at Talladega, Ala. Oct. 1 and Homestead, Fla. Oct. 22. After Homestead, four drivers will compete for the series championship Nov. 4 at Phoenix.

Read more about NASCAR

Friday Bristol Xfinity race: Start times, TV info, weather Kyle Busch and Joe Gibbs Racing: A long, sometimes rough, road Dr. Diandra: Firesuits for race cars

Bristol Truck starting lineup: Derek Kraus wins pole originally appeared on