Trout is unanimous pick for Sporting News' All-Star team

When voting for the American League Most Valuable Player award is announced Nov. 15, Los Angeles Angels outfielder Mike Trout will learn where he stands with the baseball writers, who select the MVP.

Trout already knows how the AL front-office executives view him, as he was the only unanimous selection in voting for a postseason All-Star team.

The Sporting News polled 30 general managers and assistant GMs from AL teams, 29 from NL teams.

The other top vote-getters in the AL were Tampa Bay Rays closer Fernando Rodney and New York Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano, who received 29 votes apiece at their positions. Texas Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton was chosen on 28 ballots.

Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera received just 20 votes despite becoming baseball's first Triple Crown winner since 1967.

The top selections in the NL were Pittsburgh Pirates center fielder Andrew McCutchen and Milwaukee Brewers left fielder Ryan Braun, who each received 26 votes.

Trout, 21, led the AL with 129 runs and with 49 stolen bases, and his .326 average trailed only Cabrera's .333 mark. He came in third in the league in slugging percentage at .564 and in on-base percentage at .399.

The rest of the AL team consisted of Minnesota Twins catcher Joe Mauer (19 votes), Tigers first baseman Prince Fielder (19 votes), New York Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter (24 votes), Baltimore Orioles outfielder Adam Jones (16 votes), Kansas City Royals designated hitter Billy Butler (12 votes) and Tigers starting pitcher Justin Verlander and Tampa Bay Rays starting pitcher David Price (13 votes apiece).

The remainder of the NL squad was San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey (21 votes), Washington Nationals first baseman Adam LaRoche (14 votes), Arizona Diamondbacks second baseman Aaron Hill (17 votes), San Diego Padres third baseman Chase Headley (18 votes), Nationals shortstop Ian Desmond (22 votes), St. Louis Cardinals outfielder Matt Holliday (11 votes), New York Mets starting pitcher R.A. Dickey (16 votes) and Atlanta Braves closer Craig Kimbrel (23 votes).