Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Tuesday, October 8

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Tuesday:

SOCCER

Spain squad gather in Madrid before Belarus, Georgia games

MADRID - Swansea City forward Michu will be among the new

faces when Spain coach Vicente del Bosque's squad meet up in

Madrid for the world and European champions' first training

session before they play their final two World Cup qualifiers at

home to Belarus and Georgia on Friday and Tuesday.

(SOCCER-WORLD/SPAIN-MICHU, moved, 600 words)

- -

We will have all the other latest news as the countdown

begins for Friday's World Cup qualifying matches.

(SOCCER-WORLD/)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Shanghai Masters, China (to 13)

WTA: Japan Open, Osaka (to 13)

Linz Open, Austria (to 13)

Copy on merit

- - - -

GYMNASTICS

World championships, Antwerp

Copy on merit

- - - -

BASEBALL

Tigers battle A's with season on the line

The Oakland Athletics look to eliminate the Detroit Tigers

and book their first trip to the American League Championship

Series since 2006 when they clash in a pivotal fourth game of

the best-of-five series. (BASEBALL-PLAYOFFS/TIGERS (PIX), expect

by 0020 GMT/8:20 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

NHL

Maple Leafs, Avalanche clash in battle of unbeatens

The Toronto Maple Leafs host the Colorado Avalanche in a

clash of undefeated teams while the Pittsburgh Penguins and San

Jose Sharks also look to keep their perfect records intact in

Tuesday's regular season National Hockey League action.

(NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/ (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The

Sports Xchange, 300 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North

American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0001 GMT/8:01

PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

(Duty editor: Ed Osmond)

View Comments (0)