Buzzing on Yahoo Sports:

Big League Stew

Alexi Amarista misjudges flyball, recovers to make circus catch (Video)

Though he won't score high fundamentally for his approach to this flyball on Saturday night, San Diego Padres center fielder Alexi Amarista at least gets a bonus for style, creativity and all around entertainment.

Basically, Amarista screwed the play up. He misread the flyball off the bat of Kelly Johnson so badly that he was running in the wrong direction and looking over the wrong shoulder for 95 percent of his route. Yet somehow, someway, as the ball quickly descended, he recovered and made a remarkable circus catch.

People will argue it wasn't a great play because it took a screw-up to reach the outcome. I'll buy that, but it doesn't make it any less impressive. And the effort, though flawed, deserves some praise as well. Especially when you consider Amarista spends just as much of his time in the field playing infield as he does outfield. He's a guy that's happy to play anywhere, so long as he's playing at all.

For that, I tip my cap and recognize the play.

Unfortunately for the Padres, despite the fact that no damage was done and they rallied to take a 7-6 lead the following inning, Evan Longoria got the last word for Tampa with his fifth career walkoff home run.

Looking for more baseball chatter?
Follow @bigleaguestew, @Townie813, @AnswerDave and @MikeOz on Twitter
Also, check out the BLS Facebook Page

View Comments (1)