Tiger Woods will never officially retire. No golfer ever really retires. Other athletes retire so that they can play golf, and golfers just ... keep playing golf. Retirement in golf for superstars means "transitioning onto the PGA Tour Champions and doing fewer commercials," so why would you hold a press conference for something like that? Woods has too much to lose by making a formal announcement. The future hope of him once again teeing it up and club-twirling his way down the fairways at Augusta National or St. Andrews feeds the machine that is Tiger Woods as a corporation. And the incentive to turn that off is not lofty. So Woods will linger and maybe play a little or possibly play a lot
Playing great golf and making birdies at the TPC San Antonio Oaks Course is never an easy task, but the extreme weather conditions on Saturday made the third round of the Valero Texas Open more of a test of survival and a challenge for success than normal. Those conditions have also created a crowded leaderboard. On Saturday, Kevin Chappell birdied three of his final five holes to finish at 8-under-par 208 and seize a one-shot lead over Brendan Grace of South Africa and John Huh in cool and gusty weather that made the Oaks Course, already one of the toughest on tour, even more difficult than usual. Chappell has never won on the PGA Tour but has six second-place finishes, including this event in 2011.
SOUTHPORT, England – The R&A and USGA will announce a change to the Rules of Golf on Tuesday that is expected to ensure a Lexi Thompson situation does not crop up in the future. The governing bodies met at Augusta National during the Masters, where Lexi Thompson’s controversial four-shot penalty during the ANA Inspiration was discussed at great length. Thompson incorrectly replaced her ball on the 17th hole during the third round. Thompson was only notified of the incident while walking off the 12th green in the fourth round after a TV viewer alerted LPGA officials to the infraction. The 22-year-old was handed a two-shot penalty for incorrectly marking her ball, and another two-shot penalty for