Zach Parker vs. John Ryder: date, time, how to watch, background

John Ryder and Zach Parker will face off in an important all-British super middleweight bout Saturday in London.

ZACH PARKER (22-0, 16 KOs) vs. JOHN RYDER (31-5, 17 KOs)

  • Date: Saturday, Nov. 26

  • Time: 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT (7 p.m. GMT) (main event later in show)

  • Where: 02 Arena, London

  • TV/Stream: ESPN+ (BT Sport in U.K.)

  • Division: Super middleweights (168 pounds)

  • At stake: No major titles

  • Pound-for-pound ranking: None

  • Odds: Parker 1½-1 favorite (average of multiple outlets)

  • Also on the card: Hamzah Sheeraz vs. River Wilson-Bent, middleweights; Pierce O’Leary vs. Emmanuel Mungandjela, super middleweights; Dennis McCann vs. Joe Ham, junior featherweights; Sam Noakes vs. Calvin McCord, lightweights

  • Prediction: Ryder SD

  • Background: Parker and Ryder, ranked Nos. 1 and 2 by the WBO, will be fighting for the sanctioning body’s “interim” title and the right to face champion Canelo Alvarez. Ryder, who has made a strong impression against elite opponents in recent years, faces another stiff challenge in his hometown. The 34-year-old lost a unanimous decision to then-titleholder Callum Smith in 2019 but he pushed his respected countryman to his limits. And he upset Daniel Jacobs by a split decision in his most recent fight, this past February, proving that he belongs among the best 168-pounders. Parker, a 28-year-old from central England, is a well-schooled boxer-puncher. He has looked sensational in recent fights – stopping his last five opponents – but Ryder represents a step up in opposition. We’ll learn a lot about Parker in this fight.

Related

John Ryder rallies to defeat Daniel Jacobs by split decision

Callum Smith defeats John Ryder by an iffy unanimous decision

Story originally appeared on Boxing Junkie