Zach Edey, Drew Timme headline finalists for Naismith Men’s Player of the Year

Purdue junior Zach Edey and Gonzaga senior Drew Timme on Tuesday were among the four players named as finalists for the Naismith Men’s Player of the Year award.

Edey, the Big Ten Player of the Year, averaged 22.3 points, 12.9 points, 2.1 blocks and 1.5 assists with the Boilermakers. He became the first player in history to record 750 points, 400 rebounds, 70 blocks and 50 assists in a season.

Timme was named the West Coast Conference Player of the Year for the second straight season after averaging 21.1 points, 7.3 rebounds, 3.2 assists and one block. He became the Zags’ all-time leading scorer this season after finishing with 2,259 points.

Joining Edey and Timme as finalists are Indiana senior Trayce Jackson-Davis and Kansas senior Jalen Wilson. Jackson-Davis was a consensus first-team All-American and Wilson was named the Big 12 Player of the Year.

The four finalists emerged from a group of 10 semifinalists and were selected by a panel featuring journalists, current and former head coaches, former winners and conference commissioners.

The award will be announced on April 2 in Houston, Texas.

More NCAA!

San Diego State reacts to advancing to Sweet 16 for the first time since 2014

Furman hero JP Pegues: I've watched the game-winning clip 'at least 50 times'

Donovan Mitchell hilariously thought Keegan Murray was still in college

Story originally appeared on Rookie Wire