- Oops!Something went wrong.Please try again later.
KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. – Y.E. Yang, who took down Tiger Woods in the final round to win the Wanamaker Trophy in 2009, was disqualified Friday at the 103rd PGA Championship.
Yang, whose last victory came in the 2018 Crowns on the Japan Golf Tour, signed an incorrect scorecard following the second round at The Ocean Course on Kiawah Island. Yang singed for a 4 on the par-4 10th when he actually made a 5.
After he signed the scorecard and left the scoring area, he was disqualified. According to Rule 3.3b, which addresses a player’s responsibility when scoring in stroke play, the player is disqualified if he returns a score for any hole lower than the one actually taken for any reason other than failing to include a penalty stroke he did not know about.
Yang shot 75 in the first round and followed it up with a second-round 83 (an 84 with the adjusted score on No. 10). He was 14 over when he signed his incorrect scorecard.
In better days, Yang overcame a two-shot deficit in the final round to topple Woods at Hazeltine National in Minnesota. Yang closed with a 70 for a 3-shot win for his lone major championship triumph.
Watch: Brooks Koepka and Rory McIlroy are in sync at the PGA Championship. Really in sync.
This player was slapped with a penalty after taking 74 seconds at the PGA Championship
Math whiz Corey Conners figures out Ocean Course, takes lead in PGA Championship