Wildcats win team title at wrestling EIAC tournament

Jan. 15—AURORA — South Dearborn was the host for the 2024 EIAC wrestling tournament Saturday.

Franklin County won the team title with 253 points. East Central took second with 234. Rushville finished third with 204. The host Knights finished fourth with 134 followed by Batesville 112.5, Lawrenceburg 104, Connersville 91 and Greensburg 74.5.


The Pirates had one conference champion on the day with Preston Merritt winning the title at 120 pounds. Merritt won all his matches by fall, pinning Evan Scribner of Lawrenceburg in the quarterfinal, Adam Brewer of Batesville in the semifinal and Cole Freese of Franklin County for the title.

Cayden Beagle (106) and Adam Underhill (150) earned third place honors for the Pirates. Landin Shepherd finished in fourth place at 132. Micah Spears placed sixth at 126.


The Lions had three champions on the day.

At 106, Briggs Tackett pinned Connersville's Michael Alderman in the quarterfinal, pinned South Dearborn's Kelly Grayson in the semifinal and defeated Bryce Bruns of Franklin County in the final.

At 113, Blake Hunt received a forfeit in the first round, pinned Batesville's Riley Weiler in the semifinal and pinned Franklin County's Roger Zurburg for the title.

At 175, Sam Pavey received a forfeit in the quarterfinal, defeated East Central's Travis Riley 13-6 in the semifinal and defeated Franklin County's Lane Westerman 7-3 in the final.

Other placements for the Lions included Zakk Reed fifth at 120, Kyle Jacobs fourth at 126, Kian Nash fifth at 132, Pacey Dye fourth at 138, Ty Ellis fourth at 144, Quinn Barada fourth at 150, Denver Campbell third at 157, Elijah Biggs fifth at 165, Kaleb Amos fourth at 190, Trey Newman second at 215 and Dom Evans fifth at 285.


Damien Dance remained undefeated on the season in winning the conference title at 165. Dance moved to 33-0 with a 15-0 win over South Dearborn's Nick Wismann in the quarterfinal, pin of Connersville's Wesley Wise in the semifinal and pin of Franklin County's Keegan Clark in the final.

Other placements for the Bulldogs included AJ Dance fifth at 106, Riley Weiler fourth at 113, Adam Brewer fourth at 120, Liam Stutz sixth at 150, David Maher second at 157, John Dirkhising sixth at 190 and Max Amberger second at 285.

All three teams return to South Dearborn Jan. 27 for the IHSAA sectional.

Contact Aaron Kirchoff at