White Sox get a complete makeover with new Players' Weekend jerseys

Ben Bokun
NBC Sports Chicago

The unique nicknames and uniforms of Players' Weekend are here.

The three-day baseball festivity will take place Aug. 24-26, according to MLB.com, and players will showcase nicknames of their choice on the back of newly designed jerseys for this year. The White Sox will travel to Detroit for the series. 

This season, the South Side club will be sporting gray and black threads with white lettering and red numbers.

Scroll to continue with content

Similar to last year, the team will be wearing bright red hats with a black "SOX" logo and brim.

In 2017, the jerseys were the same design, but they were black with glaring red sleeves.

White Sox players will have the chance to write the name of someone who has influenced them in their lives on a patch stuck on the right sleeve, per MLB.com. The caps and uniforms will have a logo on them that illustrates the evolution of players from Little League to the pros.

But what is Players' Weekend and why do players choose the creative names that go on their backs?

According to MLB.com, this weekend gives players the chance to have fun, show off their personalities and pay tribute to those who have guided them to the major leagues. Players can also put on special cleats, wristbands, sleeves, and batting gloves. They can even use new catcher's masks and bats.

Here is the complete list of White Sox player jersey nicknames:

Jose Abreu: "MAL TIEMPO"

Tim Anderson: "TA7"

Luis Avilan: "AVI"

Xavier Cedeno: "X"

Dylan Covey: "COVE"

Tyler Danish: "DANISH"

Matt Davidson: "MATTY D"

Nicky Delmonico: "PUP"

Adam Engel: "MAN OF STEAL"

Danny Farquhar: "D-FARK"

Jace Fry: "FOO"

Avisail Garcia: "AVI"

Leury Garcia: "LEO"

Lucas Giolito: "BIG FOOT"

Jeanmar Gomez: "JANKO"

Miguel Gonzalez: "EL MARIACHI"

Nate Jones: "NATE'S NATION"

Ryan LaMarre: "LaMARRE"

Reynaldo Lopez: "REY"

Juan Minaya: "JUANITO"

Yoan Moncada: "YOYO"

Omar Narvaez: "NARVY"

Daniel Palka: "DP"

Carlos Rodon: "LOS"

Yolmer Sanchez: "EL DE PIÑONAL"

Hector Santiago: "BULLDOG"

James Shields: "JUEGO G"

Kevan Smith: "WEBBY"

Thyago Vieira: "NÉGS"

What to Read Next