Wellington to take on defending champ Niege; Repeat from LY as Hugoton versus McPherson in boys finals

Mar. 10—Wellington defeats McPherson in overtime to advance to title

The number four seed McPherson Lady Bullpups jumped out to an early 12 to 0 lead over the

number one seed Wellington Crusaders and then 5-8 junior guard Val Norwood rattled off eight

straight points to get Wellington within three.

Wellington switched defenses and began a transition offense, but McPherson was able to

stretch out a 21-19 halftime lead at the break. Norwood finished the half with 13 points.

Wellington's Britt Zeka hit an early three-pointer to give the Crusaders their first lead 22-21 in

the second half. Back-to-back threes by Norwood and Cruz Cornejo extended Wellington's lead

to 30-25 with just over four minutes left in the third quarter. The Crusaders took a 41 to 34 lead

to the fourth quarter.

McPherson's Jayla McLeod made an inside bucket with 3:45 to go in the game to draw within

two at 48-46. Senior Reanna Eilrich was fouled at 2:44 but missed the opportunity to tie by

missing the first free throw before making the second.

McLeod made a drive to the bucket for a 50-49 score and then a turnover gave the ball to

McPherson. A missed two-pointer saw Wellington rebound before Mac's McLeod tied the game

at 51-51 with just 11.5 seconds remaining in regulation.

Knotted at 51-51, the game went into overtime with McPherson controlling the tip. Back and

forth trips to the free throw line gave Wellington a 57-53 advantage with 1:18 remaining.

Wellington shot over 60% at the free throw line in the game and stretched the lead to 61-53 with

under 40 seconds remaining. Wellington held on to win 65-56 to advance to the championship.

Norwood led all scorers with 26 points and Cruz finished with 10. McPherson senior Karter

Alvord had 21points and McLeod finished with 13.

Wellington 65, McPherson 56 (OT)

McPherson 13 8 13 17 5

Wellington 6 13 22 10 14

McPherson — Jayal McLoud 13, Madi Moors 3, Jaela Thompson 7, Karter Alvord 21, Reanna

Eilrich 9, Ellie Bower 1. Totals: 19 (4) 14-21.

Wellington — Lyndi Barton 6, Britt Zeka 6, Ella Goodrum 2, Cruz Cornejo 10, Val Norwood 26,

Kylan Gregory 7, Dru Zeka 8. Totals: 20 (6) 15-19.

McPherson, Baldwin

McPherson jumped out to an early first quarter lead that extended to 10 points only to have

Baldwin come back to tie and have a short one-point lead. The lead changed four times and

was tied twice in the first half. McPherson's Gabe Pyle hit a deep three at the buzzer to give

them a 30-27 halftime advantage.

Baldwin struggled to convert baskets in the second half which led to McPherson extending its

lead to double digits. Cory Muehler led the Bullpups in scoring with 12 points in the first half and

he added 14 second half points to lead all scorers as the Bullpups went on to win 62-49.

McPherson advances to the championship contest. Kayden Thompson had 15 and Gabe Pyle

ended with 14 for McPherson. Baldwin had four players in double figures with Cooper Carr

having 13, Talan Torres with 12, Leo Schoenberger with 11 and Colton Collum with 10.

McPherson 62, Baldwin 49

Baldwin 13 14 8 14

McPherson 18 12 16 16

Baldwin — Joseph Ziembicki 3, Talan Torrez 12, Cooper Carr 13, Leo Schoenberger 11, Colton

Coolum 10. Totals: 12 (7) 16-18.

McPherson — Owen Pyle 2, Cory Muehler 26, Kayden Thompson 15, Gabe Pyle 13, Gavin

Wedel 4, Jett Pyle 2. Totals: 25 (8) 4-4.1

Bishop Miege returns to championship game

Defending Champion Bishop Miege will return to the Class 4A State Championship after putting

away Fort Scott in the semifinals Friday evening. Miege took a 31-16 advantage to the locker

room at halftime. Junior Kirsten Verhulst had 10 first half points to lead all scorers.

Miege advanced to the championship game with a 61-32 win.

Verhulst led Miege with 14 points and 11 boards as the defending Champion played the entire

team throughout the game. Faith McCallop had 11and Grace McCallop finished with 10 for


Forts Scott's Keegan Yarick was game high with 19.

Bishop Miege 61, Fort Scott 32

Bishop Miege 17 14 20 10

Fort Scott 5 11 10 6

Bishop Miege — Mary Grant 8, Faith McCallop 11, Kirston Verhulst 14, Grace McCallop 10,

Finley LeMay 6, Carly Kurt 3, Addison Duckers 3, Georgia LeMay 6. Totals: 26 (2) 7-8.

Fort Scott — Abbie Gorman 2, Raveyn Kegler 2, Allie Brown 3, Keegan Yarick 19, Claire McElroy

4, Aubrey Yarick 2. Totals: 10 (2) 10-11.

Hugoton escapes Atchison's final shot to return to the championship game

The defending champion Hugoton Eagles worked a 12-7 first quarter lead over the number two

seed Atchison Phoenix. Hugoton took a 24-12 halftime lead in a defensive controlled game.

Hugoton led throughout the first two quarters.

The Eagles Izeyah Harris scored 10 points on three of four shooting in the first 16 minutes.

Throughout the game with the defensive pressure from both teams and each team struggling on

offense the score after three quarters was Hugoton 31, Atchison 23. Each team had double digit

turnovers headed to the final eight minutes.

Fouls became a major factor in the outcome as Atchison was able to tie the game at the free

throw line with just over three minutes left to play. With Hugoton leading 35 to 34 at a timeout at

1:52, the Eagles turned the ball over on a fifth personal foul by Emmett Gaskill. Atchison took

their first lead of the game 36-35 with 1:16 remaining. Issac Martin hit a pair of free throws with

59 seconds left to give Hugoton a one-point lead 37-36. Atchison retook the lead 38-37 with 38

seconds remaining. After a Hugoton timeout, Gaskill hit a jumper in the paint for a 39-38 Eagles

lead. Atchison's final shot rimmed off at the buzzer enabling Hugton to return to the

championship game.

Hugoton 39, Atchison 38

Hugoton 12 12 7 8

Atchison 7 5 11 15

Hugoton — Dasean Lewis 8, Jay Acosta 2, Issac Martin 10, Izeyah Harris 12, Griffin Heger 5,

Alexis Jimnez 2. Totals: 14 (3) 8-8.

Atchison — Xiomar Hernandez 11, Jeter Purdy 13, Trey Carter 4, Eric Smith III4, Jace Richards

4, Yogi Purdy 2. Totals: 14 (1) 9-13,

Hugoton versus McPherson in the championship contest is a repeat from 2023.