Watch Warriors' Draymond Green make wild shot through bottom of basket

Marcus White
NBC Sports BayArea

From a certain point of view, Warriors forward Draymond Green scored two points late in the first half Wednesday against the Milwaukee Bucks

From the NBA rulebook's point of view, he did not. 

The ball slipped out of Green's hands, through the bottom of the basket, off the backboard and then down through the net. The Bucks were awarded the ball on a turnover, but not before most of those in attendance at Chase Center were deeply confused. 

Scroll to continue with content
Ad

"I've never seen that before," injured Warriors guard D'Angelo Russell appeared to say. 

[RELATED: How Spellman's parents gave him blueprint for NBA career]

Alas, the NBA's rule-makers had, as the league's rulebook explicitly forbids scoring in such a manner. 

In "Section XI" of "Rule No. 10: Violations and Penalties," the NBA rulebook says that "[a] player shall not be the last to touch a ball which rises above the rim level within the cylinder from below," and that such a violation results in a change of possession. 

There's nothing in the "HORSE" rulebook that forbids it, though, at least as far as we know. 

Watch Warriors' Draymond Green make wild shot through bottom of basket originally appeared on NBC Sports Bay Area

What to Read Next