UNC QB Drake Maye named semifinalist for Walter Camp award

The national recognition for North Carolina quarterback Drake Maye continues.

A day after Maye was named a semi-finalist for the Davey O’Brien award, he is now a semi-finalist for another big award. Maye was named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year award on Wednesday afternoon joining 21 other players to be named to the list.

The award is given annually to the best player in college football. The list of 222 semifinalists will be trimmed down to five finalists on November 30th and the winner will be announced at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8.

Joining Maye on the list are: C.J. Stroud (Ohio State), Marvin Harrison Jr. (Ohio State), Will Anderson (Alabama), Bryce Young (Alabama), Stetson Bennett (Georgia), Brock Bowers (Georgia), Chase Brown (Illinois), Jayden Daniels (LSU), Blake Corum (Michigan), Michael Mayer (Notre Dame), Bo Nix (Oregon), Noah Sewell (Oregon), Israel Abanikanda (Pitt), Hendon Hooker (Tennessee), Jalin Hyatt (Tennessee), Bijan Robinson (Texas), Max Duggan (TCU), Zach Charbonnet (UCLA), Tuli Tuipulotu (USC), Caleb Williams (USC), Michael Penix (Washington).

Follow us @TarHeelsWire on Twitter and like our page on Facebook to follow ongoing coverage of North Carolina Tar Heels news, notes and opinions.

Let us know your thoughts, comment on this story below. Join the conversation today.


Story originally appeared on Tarheels Wire