UFC Fight Night 195 video: Jim Miller climbs all-time wins list with first KO since UFC 200

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·1 min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Jim Miller continued his climb up the UFC’s all-time wins list Saturday with a brutal knockout of Erick Gonzalez at UFC Fight Night 196.

Gonzalez (14-6 MMA, 0-1 UFC) entered his first octagon appearance at the biggest experience disadvantage in history. Miller (33-16 MMA, 22-15 UFC) was competing in his record 38th fight with the promotion, and it proved to be a difference in a second-round knockout victory.

The lightweight bout was part of the UFC Fight Night 195 main card at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas. It streamed on ESPN+.

Gonzalez came out of the gate strong in the first round, getting in top position and hurting Miller with a couple of good punches. Miller showed his veteran savvy, though, tying up his opponent and slowing the action down through the first fight minutes.

Miller came unleashed early in the second round, though. In the first exchange, he connected with a hellacious left hand that instantly slumped Gonzalez to the canvas. The fight was stopped at the 0:14 mark of the round, giving Miller his first knockout since UFC 200 in July 2016.

The victory marked Miller’s 22nd triumphant performance in the octagon. That puts him into a tie for second most wins in UFC history behind Donald Cerrone (24).

“Old dog, new tricks,” Miller said in his post-fight interview with Michael Bisping. “Got the KO.”

Up-to-the-minute UFC Fight Night 195 results include:

  • Jim Miller def. Erick Gonzalez via knockout (punches) – Round 2, 0:14

  • Manon Fiorot def. Mayra Bueno Silva via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

  • Nate Landwehr def. Ludovit Klein via submission (anaconda choke) – Round 3, 2:22

  • Bruno Silva def. Andrew Sanchez via knockout (punches) – Round 3, 2:35

  • Danny Roberts def. Ramazan Emeev via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

  • Luana Carolina def. Loopy Godinez via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

  • Danaa Batgerel def. Brandon Davis via TKO (strikes) – Round 1, 2:01

  • Ariane Carnelossi def. Istela Nunes via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 3, 2:57