Two Rutgers commits named Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Player of the Year finalists

As the high school basketball season begins to wind down, Rutgers had a reason to celebrate on Thursday. Future Scarlet Knights Ace Bailey and Dylan Harper were named Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Player of the Year finalists. The talented duo is expected to be critical to Rutgers success starting in the fall.

While Harper and Bailey are already well known to scouts, they will have competition. That includes Cameron Boozer, AJ Dylantsa and Cooper Flagg who has already committed to Duke. All five finalists are Jersey Mike’s Naismith First-Team All-America selections.

Although each finalist has dazzled fans with their play, they were also chosen because of their character.


“Each candidate is being recognized for his exceptional prowess on the court and exemplary leadership throughout the season,” said Eric Oberman, the Atlanta Tipoff Club president. “The finalists stand worthy in their unique capacity, and choosing a single winner will be challenging. But we eagerly anticipate witnessing the culmination of these players’ and coaches’ seasons.”

For Rutgers fans, March 8 will be a day to mark on the calendar. That is when the Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy will be announced. Harper and Bailey both have a good chance of hearing their names called.


Story originally appeared on Rutgers Wire