Two incumbents lose seats on the Pewaukee School Board in the 2022 spring general election

Two incumbents have lost their spots on the Pewaukee School Board.

Incumbents Ann Wright and Eric Krasovich came in fifth and sixth, respectively, in a field of six candidates.

Incumbent Steve Dankert received the most votes with 2,161 (20.8%). Challenger Bren Sawall was second with 1,970 votes (19%), while challenger Jane Flammang was close behind in third with 1,967 votes (19%).

Steve Dankert
Steve Dankert

Dankert said he had "a lot of gratitude" for being re-elected.

"I see it as a strong statement that people value the work that I've done and support wanting me to continue to do that work, which is why I was running for a second term," said Dankert.

Sawall said it was "very humbling" to have been a winner in the election. She said she wants parents to have a "greater voice" at the table and have a better understanding about curriculum.

Bren Sawall
Bren Sawall

"I really felt that the circumstances in the schools right now and parents just being really aware of everything that's going on. It was a year where the conservatives came out to vote, and they spoke. They spoke loud and clear. I'm just grateful that the voters of Pewaukee came out and they put their confidence in me," Sawall said.

Flammang said she appreciated the voter response.

"The results tell me that I share similar views with many of the parents and community members on issues regarding our schools. Thank you to all of my supporters," Flammang said in an email.

Dankert, Sawall and Flammang beat challenger Jason Berg, who was fourth with 1,436 votes (13.8%); incumbent Ann Wright, who was fifth with 1,420 votes (13.7%) and incumbent Eric Krasovich, who was sixth with 1,399 votes (13.5%). There were also 20 write-in votes.

Berg said he was disappointed in the results, but respected the process.

"I'm still going to be a strong advocate for kids. I'm not going away, especially kids with disabilities, LGBTQ kids, kids of color and kids with mental health issues. I'll still be a strong advocate for adults who pursue the trades, and I'll be back," Berg said.

Wright said she also was disappointed in the results and that the race had become partisan.

"I thought that it was all about the kids and what was good for the school district. Unfortunately, it's really more partisan politics that have come back down to this level," said Wright.

Krasovich did not immediately respond to requests for an interview.

Jane Flammang
Jane Flammang

Dankert and Sawall will receive three-year terms; Flammang will receive a two-year term.

FULL COVERAGE: Spring election results

LIVE UPDATES: Election updates from around the state


Steve Dankert (inc.), 2,161

Bren Sawall, 1,970 votes

Jane Flammang 1,967 votes

Jason Berg, 1,436

Ann V. Wright (inc.), 1,420

Eric Krasovich (inc.), 1,399

Write-ins: 20

Contact Alec Johnson at (262) 875-9469 or Follow him on Twitter at @AlecJohnson12.

Our subscribers make this reporting possible. Please consider supporting local journalism by subscribing to the Journal Sentinel at

DOWNLOAD THE APP: Get the latest news, sports and more

This article originally appeared on Milwaukee Journal Sentinel: Pewaukee School Board election results on April 5, 2022