Turner ELeague announces first three groups and league format


(Image: Turner)

The Turner ELeague is launching in a few weeks, and now we know what, exactly, the regular season will look like.

Three groups of four teams will battle each week in the group stage. In each group, teams will play one another twice in a round-robin system. Here are the first three groups:

Group A

- Luminosity

- Team Liquid

- Cloud9

- Renegades

Group B

- Ninja’s in Pyjamas

- G2 Esports

- Tyloo

- Optic Gaming

Group C

- Astralis

- NRG Esports

- SK Gaming

- Counter-Logic Gaming

When a team wins, they’ll earn one point, which will be added up at the end of play each Wednesday to rank the group. A semifinal for the group will be held on Thursdays; first place will take on fourth while the second and third place finishers duke it out. The winners of those two matches will compete Friday nights on TBS.

The winner of each group is automatically qualified for the playoffs, though the runners-up will have a chance to play for playoff qualification in a last chance tournament.

With the first three groups announced, we know now that the remaining teams compLexity, Dignitas, Echo Fox, EnvyUs, FaZe, Flipsid3, Fnatic, Gambit, Mousesports, Na’Vi, Team Solomid, and Virtus.pro will be sorted into three groups from here.

Dylan Walker is on Twitter @dyluuxx.