Tracking the Bucs’ history with the franchise tag

The window has officially opened for NFL teams to use the franchise tag to keep one of their most important free agents from hitting the open market.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers have a prime candidate this year in cornerback Jamel Dean, but they might not be able to afford it, thanks to their daunting salary cap situation.

As the Bucs deliberate whether or not to use the tag this year, here’s a look back at all the players in Tampa Bay history who have received it:

WR Chris Godwin (2022)

Ken Blaze-USA TODAY Sports

WR Chris Godwin (2021)

(AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)

OLB Shaq Barrett (2020)

(AP Photo/Steve Luciano)

K Connor Barth (2012)

Bruce Kluckhohn-USA TODAY Sports

WR Antonio Bryant (2009)

(Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images)

DE Chidi Ahanotu (1999)


OT Paul Gruber (1993)

Andy Lyons /Allsport

Story originally appeared on Buccaneers Wire