Tiger Woods opts out but the best of the rest are coming to The Players Championship

Tiger Woods let the 5 p.m. Friday deadline pass without committing to next week’s Players Championship.

Almost everyone else on the PGA Tour will be at the Players Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass.

Led by No. 1 Jon Rahm, 19 of the top-20 players on the world golf rankings and 49 of the top-50 on the FexEx Cup standings committed to The Players before the Friday deadline.

Rahm has won three of six starts this season, prior to the Arnold Palmer Invitational, and finished among the top-10 in all six. Since winning in Mexico last year, he has 10 top-10s in 15 starts and has the current longest streak of made cuts on the PGA Tour with 24.

Scroll to continue with content

Rahm has made the cut in all five Players he's entered with a tie for 12th in 2019 and a tie for ninth in 2021.

Also in the mix will be past Players champions Rory Mclroy (No. 3 in the world) and Justin Thomas (No. 9) and top-10 players Scottie Scheffler, Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele, Will Zalatoris, Max Homa and Collin Morikawa.

The Players Championship

  • March 9-12, Players Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass

  • Purse, $25 million; first place, $4.5 million

  • Tickets and parking, visit theplayers.com

  • Military Appreciation Day and Riley Green concert, March 7, 4:30 p.m., 17th hole

Past major champions Jordan Spieth, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Shane Lowry, Keegan Bradley, Hideki Matusuyama and Justin Rose will be prowling the Stadium Course, along with past Players champions Webb Simpson, Si Woo Kim, Jason Day, Rickie Fowler and Matt Kuchar.


More Players Championship coverage

Absentee champion: Cameron Smith's jump to LIV Golf leaves a void at Players Championship

Changes afoot:PGA Tour Policy board approves reduced fields, no cuts for designated events

Buckle up:Players Championship sell-out of Friday parking offers hint of a busy week

Tiger Woods is all smiles with his daughter Sam during last year's World Golf Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at the PGA Tour Global Home in Ponte Vedra Beach.
Tiger Woods is all smiles with his daughter Sam during last year's World Golf Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at the PGA Tour Global Home in Ponte Vedra Beach.

The glaring absence from the field will be last year's champion, Cameron Smith. He and more than 20 other players are under indefinite PGA Tour suspension and ineligible for Tour events after they jumped to the LIV Golf League last year.

Other players who would have been eligible for The Players had they not joined LIV Golf are past Players champions Phil Mickelson and Sergio Garcia, and Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau, Patrick Reed, Joaquin Niemann, Abraham Ancer, Talor Gooch, Mito Pereira, Thomas Pieters and Harold Varner III.


While Woods has emphasized since his return last year from a near-fatal car accident in 2021 that his primary goal would be to play in the four major championships, he left the door open after the Genesis Invitational in Feburary that he might "sprinkle in" a few other events.

Woods last competed in The Players in 2019, tying for 30th, 10 shots behind winner Rory McIlroy. He had already opted out before the 2020 tournament because of back issues, and play was canceled anyway after one round because of the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Less than a month after the 2019 Players, Woods won his fifth Masters and 15th major championship at Augusta National. He played three of the four majors last year (missing the U.S. Open) and his start at the Genesis Invitational, where he tied for 45th after a first-round 69, was his first start in a non-major championship since the 2020 ZOZO Championship.

Jon Rahm, the world's No. 1-ranked player leads the field for next week's Players Championship.
Jon Rahm, the world's No. 1-ranked player leads the field for next week's Players Championship.

The only player missing from among the top-50 on the FedEx Cup standings is Ben Taylor of England, who is getting married this weekend. The Players will have 43 of the top-50 on the world rankings and every PGA Tour winner this season, led by Rahm with three.


First Coast and Golden Isles players in the field include Billy Horschel, Keith Mitchell, Brian Harman, Russell Knox and Sam Ryder.

Players Championship commitments

  • Alexander, Tyson

  • An, Byeong Hun

  • Armour, Ryan

  • Baddeley, Aaron

  • Barnes, Erik

  • Bezuidenhout, Christiaan

  • Bradley, Keegan

  • Bramlett, Joseph

  • Brehm, Ryan

  • Buckley, Hayden

  • Burns, Sam

  • Cantlay, Patrick

  • Cink, Stewart

  • Clark, Wyndham

  • Cole, Eric

  • Conners, Corey

  • Dahmen, Joel

  • Davis, Cam

  • Day, Jason

  • Detry, Thomas

  • Duncan, Tyler

  • Endycott, Harrison

  • English, Harris

  • Finau, Tony

  • Fitzpatrick, Matt

  • Fleetwood, Tommy

  • Fowler, Rickie

  • Fox, Ryan

  • Frittelli, Dylan

  • Ghim, Doug

  • Glover, Lucas

  • Gordon, Will

  • Griffin, Ben

  • Griffin, Lanto

  • Grillo, Emiliano

  • Hadley, Chesson

  • Hadwin, Adam

  • Hahn, James

  • Hardy, Nick

  • Harman, Brian

  • Hatton, Tyrrell

  • Henley, Russell

  • Herbert, Lucas

  • Hickok, Kramer

  • Higgo, Garrick

  • Hodges, Lee

  • Hoge, Tom

  • Homa, Max

  • Horschel, Billy

  • Hossler, Beau

  • Hovland, Viktor

  • Hubbard, Mark

  • Hughes, Mackenzie

  • Im, Sungjae

  • Jaeger, Stephan

  • Kelly, Jerry

  • Kim, S.H.

  • Kim, Si Woo

  • Kim, Tom

  • Kirk, Chris

  • Kisner, Kevin

  • Kitayama, Kurt

  • Kizzire, Patton

  • Knox, Russell

  • Kraft, Kelly

  • Kuchar, Matt

  • Laird, Martin

  • Lashley, Nate

  • Lee, K.H.

  • Lee, Min Woo

  • Lingmerth, David

  • Lipsky, David

  • List, Luke

  • Long, Adam

  • Lower, Justin

  • Lowry, Shane

  • Malnati, Peter

  • Martin, Ben

  • Matsuyama, Hideki

  • McCarthy, Denny

  • McGreevy, Max

  • McIlroy, Rory

  • McNealy, Maverick

  • Merritt, Troy

  • Mitchell, Keith

  • Molinari, Francesco

  • Montgomery, Taylor

  • Moore, Taylor

  • Morikawa, Collin

  • Mullinax, Trey

  • NeSmith, Matthew

  • Noren, Alex

  • Novak, Andrew

  • Palmer, Ryan

  • Pendrith, Taylor

  • Piercy, Scott

  • Poston, J.T.

  • Power, Seamus

  • Putnam, Andrew

  • Rahm, Jon

  • Rai, Aaron

  • Ramey, Chad

  • Reavie, Chez

  • Redman, Doc

  • Riley, Davis

  • Rodgers, Patrick

  • Rose, Justin

  • Ryder, Sam

  • Schauffele, Xander

  • Scheffler, Scottie

  • Schenk, Adam

  • Schwab, Matthias

  • Scott, Adam

  • Shelton, Robby

  • Sigg, Greyson

  • Simpson, Webb

  • Smalley, Alex

  • Smotherman, Austin

  • Spaun, J.J.

  • Spieth, Jordan

  • Stallings, Scott

  • Straka, Sepp

  • Streb, Robert

  • Streelman, Kevin

  • Suh, Justin

  • Svensson, Adam

  • Tarren, Callum

  • Taylor, Nick

  • Theegala, Sahith

  • Thomas, Justin

  • Thompson, Davis

  • Thompson, Michael

  • Todd, Brendon

  • Tway, Kevin

  • Vegas, Jhonattan

  • Wallace, Matt

  • Watney, Nick

  • Willett, Danny

  • Wise, Aaron

  • Woodland, Gary

  • Wu, Brandon

  • Wu, Dylan

  • Young, Cameron

  • Zalatoris, Will

This article originally appeared on Florida Times-Union: Tiger Woods won't play The Players Championship: Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy will