Teams, format, matches for return of the Hanwha Lifeplus International Crown

Getty Images

The Hanwha Lifeplus International Crown will be contested this week. It's the fourth edition of the biennial tournament, but the first since 2018, because of the pandemic.

Eight countries, represented by 32 players, will compete Thursday-Sunday at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California. Golf Channel will air live coverage of all four days of the competition, from 6-9 p.m. ET. There will be a special Peacock window for Sunday's semifinals (stream times TBD). Here is the format:

Scroll to continue with content
  • Two groups with four teams in each group

  • Each team will play the others within the group over three days of fourballs (better ball)

  • The top 2 point earners from each group will advance to Sunday

  • The semifinals, between the No. 1 seed in Group A and the No. 2 seed in Group B, and vice versa, will consist of two singles matches and one foursomes (alternate shot) match

  • The two semifinal winning teams will compete in the same format in the finals, with a consolation match

Full scoring from the Hanwha Lifeplus International Crown

Below are the eight teams that qualified (based on aggregate Rolex Ranking points earned through April 3), the matches slated for group play and the respective players who are competing. Past champions include: South Korea (2018), United States (2016) and Spain (2014).


Thursday matches:

  • Group A: United States vs. China

  • Group A: Sweden vs. England

  • Group B: Korea vs. Australia

  • Group B: Japan vs. Thailand

Friday matches:

  • Group A: United States vs. England

  • Group A:  Sweden vs. China

  • Group B: Korea vs. Thailand

  • Group B: Australia vs. Japan

Saturday matches:

  • Group A: United States vs. Sweden

  • Group A: England vs. China

  • Group B: Korea vs. Japan

  • Group B: Thailand vs. Australia

United States

  • Nelly Korda (current Rolex Ranking: 1)

  • Lilia Vu (4)

  • Lexi Thompson (7)

  • Danielle Kang (16)

South Korea

  • Jin Young Ko (3)

  • Hyo-Joo Kim (9)

  • In Gee Chun (12)

  • Hye Jin Choi  (25)


  • Nasa Hataoka (15)

  • Ayaka Furue (19)

  • Yuka Saso (35)

  • Hinako Shibuno (39)



  • Maja Stark (30)

  • Madelene Sagstrom (31)

  • Anna Nordqvist (36)

  • Caroline Hedwall (130 – replacing Linn Grant)



  • Atthaya Thitikul (5)

  • Patty Tavatanakit (63)

  • Moriya Jutanugarn (80)

  • Ariya Jutanugarn (83)


  • Minjee Lee (6)

  • Hannah Green (14)

  • Stephanie Kyriacou (118)

  • Sarah Kemp (161)


  • Xiyu Lin (13)

  • Ruoning Yin (21)

  • Yu Liu (125)

  • Ruixin Liu (271)