Team YP in jeopardy on Capcom Pro Tour with latest rule change

Team YP
(Image: Team YP)

Team YP appears to be banned from competing on the Capcom Pro Tour after new rules were posted late Friday night.

Capcom posted the rules update a mere hours before competition was set to begin at StunFest 2016 in Rennes, France.

The new rule affecting Team YP states, “Capcom will not allow Players to participate in any Tournament if sponsored by adult content sponsors, such as a publisher of pornographic websites, or any other sponsor Capcom deems inappropriate at its sole discretion.”

Capcom did note alcoholic beverage, cigarette, and vaping sponsors are not considered inappropriate and will not be affected by the rule.

The wording of the rule does not seem to leave room for debate. If taken literally, it removes the players from competition rather than the sponsors, meaning Team YP’s Valentin “Valmaster” Petit would not be able to compete at StunFest. Anton “Filipinoman” Herrera would also not be able to compete at Combo Breaker, a CPT Ranking Event, next week.

Team YP Anton "Filipinoman" Herrera
Team YP Anton “Filipinoman” Herrera (Photo: Michael Martin)

Capcom posted an update on Twitter after reported concerns about players not being able to compete because of the new rule.

Valmaster was allowed to play at StunFest. He finished in 25th place after being eliminated by fellow French player Alioune Camara.

Team YP is an esports organization started up by its parent company YouPorn, an adult streaming website. It was recently banned from participating in ESL due to a similar enforcement of a rule banning adult content sponsors.

Team YP attempted to appeal the ESL ban and make concessions to allow its players to participate in ESL events to no avail. If Team YP is permanently banned from the CPT, its presence in esports will be severely limited.

Yahoo Esports has reached out to Capcom and Team YP for comment.

Michael Martin covers all things related to Street Fighter V and the Capcom Pro Tour. Follow him on Twitter @Bizarro_Mike.