SXSW Gaming 2017 to host Street Fighter V $20k invitational tournament

Yahoo Esports

SXSW Gaming has revealed the details (via Shoryuken) for its Fighters Underground tournament, scheduled to take place in Austin, Texas on March 16-18. The event will have a prize pool of $20,000.

Fighters Underground 2017 will have 16 players competing for $20,000. (SXSW)
Fighters Underground 2017 will have 16 players competing for $20,000. (SXSW)
Scroll to continue with content
Ad

Fighters Underground will be held on the Esports Tournament Stage as part of SXSW Gaming 2017, with the following 16 players competing:

  • Yusuke Momochi

  • Bruce Yu-lin “GamerBee” Hsiang

  • Ryan “Filipino Champ” Ramirez

  • Justin Wong

  • Ricki Ortiz

  • Du “NuckleDu” Dang

  • Darryl “Snake Eyez” S. Lewis

  • Olivier “Luffy” Hay

  • Kenneth “K-Brad” Bradley

  • Arman “Phenom” Hanjani

  • Adeel “Fourwude” Soomro

  • Mike “Danke” Schiller

  • Victor “Punk” Woodley

  • Chris Tatarian

  • Arubi “RB” Kao

  • Bryant “Smug” Huggin

The tournament will be livestreamed on Twitch via the SXSW Gaming Esports channel. The event will start at 12PM CST / 11AM PST each day, with the grand final scheduled for 4:35PM CST / 3:35PM PST on Saturday, March 18.

For those interested in dropping by, Fighters Underground will be held in the Austin Convention Center, Ball A. Attendees will need to have a SXSW badge and gaming wristband to enter.

In related competitive Street Fighter V news, this weekend saw the conclusion of Final Round 2017. After an epic run, Kun “Xian” Xian Ho finished in first place after defeating Keita “Fuudo” Ai in the grand final. The event was also home to one of the greatest Street Fighter V pop-offs we’ve ever seen.


 

What to Read Next