Sorry, Seattle: Bills making playoffs leaves Mariners with longest drought


With the Buffalo Bills squeaking into the NFL playoffs as the AFC's sixth seed Sunday, the Seattle Mariners now own the longest postseason drought in the four major North American pro sports.

The M's last made the MLB postseason in 2001 after winning a modern-record 116 games during the regular season. The team lost in the American League Championship Series to the New York Yankees, who went on to lose the World Series that year to the Arizona Diamondbacks.

The Mariners won 93 games each of the next two years after 2001 but finished third and second in their division, respectively. The team has won more than 80 games in a season only four times since then, most recently winning 86 in 2016.

Scroll to continue with content

Entering this season with high expectations, Seattle finished 78-84, as starting pitching injuries took their toll on the club.

The Mariners are one of only seven MLB franchises that has never won a championship and one of only two that has never reached the World Series.

The Cleveland Browns own the next longest drought at 15 years. The NBA's longest current postseason drought belongs to the Minnesota Timberwolves (13 years), and the Carolina Hurricanes, at eight seasons, have the longest dry spell in the NHL, according to the Elias Sports Bureau.

--Field Level Media

What to Read Next