Six UND players land on all-NCHC teams

Mar. 13—GRAND FORKS — UND won the Penrose Cup as National Collegiate Hockey Conference regular-season champions.

Its players are being recognized individually, too.

UND landed six players on all-NCHC teams Wednesday, most of anyone in the league.

Jackson Blake, who set an NCHC record for most points in league games, led the list.

Blake was a unanimous selection as a first-team all-league pick.

The sophomore from Eden Prairie, Minn., tallied 37 points in 24 league games to break the previous record of 35, set by UND's Brock Boeser in 2015-16 and Denver's Bobby Brink in 2021-22.

UND goaltender Ludvig Persson was named second-team all-conference.

Persson went 14-8-1 in league games, leading all NCHC goalies with three shutouts. He posted a 2.73 goals-against average and an .898 save percentage in conference games.

Four UND players were named honorable mentions — forward Cameron Berg, forward Riese Gaber, defenseman Garrett Pyke and defenseman Jake Livanavage.

It marks the fourth-straight year Gaber has landed NCHC honors. He previously was recognized on the all-rookie team, all-first team and all-second team. Gaber had nine goals and 17 points in 24 league games while captaining UND to the Penrose Cup.

Berg scored 15 goals in 24 league games, finishing second to Colorado College's Noah Laba (16) in the NCHC goal-scoring title race. He also had 25 points in won 52.8 percent of draws in league games.

Pyke tallied 12 points in 24 conference games, while anchoring UND's blue line. Livanavage, who was one of two NCHC rookies to earn all-league recognition, tallied 18 points in 24 league games.

The NCHC is expected to announce major award finalists Thursday. Those will be handed out March 21 in St. Paul.

F — Jackson Blake, North Dakota, 45 points (unanimous)

F — Noah Laba, Colorado College, 39

F — Jack Devine, Denver, 38

D — Zeev Buium, Denver, 45 (unanimous)

D — Dylan Anhorn, SCSU, 35

G — Kaidan Mbereko, Colorado college, 45 (unanimous)

F — Massimo Rizzo, Denver, 21

F — Luke Grainger, Western Michigan, 15

F — Ben Steeves, Minnesota Duluth, 13

D — Shai Buium, Denver, 17

D — Jack Peart, SCSU, 7

G — Ludvig Persson, North Dakota, 8

F — Cameron Berg, North Dakota, 11

F — Sam Colangelo, Western Michigan, 3

F — Riese Gaber, North Dakota, 3

D — Sean Behrens, Denver, 7

D — Garrett Pyke, North Dakota, 5

D — Jake Livanavage, North Dakota, 5

G — Simon Latkoczy, Omaha, 4