Sean McVay is now a member of the NFL Competition Committee

Sean McVay is getting more involved with the rules of the NFL moving forward. The league announced on Thursday that McVay and Bills coach Sean McDermott are the newest members of the NFL Competition Committee.

The committee is made up of eight members, ranging from Falcons CEO Rich McKay, who’s the chairman, to three head coaches: McVay, McDermott and Mike Tomlin. The purpose of the committee is to take “into consideration the input of experts, clubs, players, league committees, the NFL Players Association and other sources.”

Each year, the committee meets before the combine to discuss feedback from teams pertaining to rules, player protection, officiating and technology, among other topics. The group then presents a report to the 32 teams, who vote on proposed changes, needing 24 yes votes in order for a change to be enacted.

Story originally appeared on Rams Wire