San Diego State's LeDee voted by media Mountain West Player of the Year, UNM's Toppin top freshman

Mar. 11—ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — San Diego State's Jaedon LeDee has been voted 2024 Mountain West men's basketball Player of the Year by a select panel of journalists from each of the league's 11 media markets.

The 6-foot-9 senior from Houston averaged 20.5 points and 8.2 rebounds per game while shooting 55.7% from the floor in leading the Aztecs this season. He received 7 votes. Utah State's Darius Brown II (3 votes) and Great Osobor (1) received the other votes.

LeDee is joined by Osobor, Colorado State's Isaiah Stevens, Boise State's Tyson Degenhart and Nevada's Jarod Lucas on the All-Mountain West First Team.

A tie created a six-man second team of Utah State's Brown, Nevada's Kenan Blackshear, New Mexico's Donovan Dent, JT Toppin and Jaelen House and UNLV freshman Dedan Thomas. The third team includes Boise State's O'Mar Stanley, Wyoming's Sam Griffin, Air Force forward Rytis Petraitis, Nick Davidson of Nevada and UNM's Jamal Mashburn Jr. A total of 26 players received votes.

Utah State's Danny Sprinkle is the media panel's pick for Mountain West Coach of the Year, landing 10 of the 11 first-place votes. In his first season coaching the Aggies, Sprinkle led the program to its first outright Mountain West championship. Nevada's Steve Alford received the other vote.

Toppin (8 votes) was selected Freshman of the Year with UNLV's Thomas (3 votes) coming in second. Osobor edged teammate Brown, 8-3, for Newcomer of the Year. New Mexico's House topped San Diego State's Lamont Butler 4-3 for Defensive Player of the Year while Nevada's Tre Coleman (2), UNM's Toppin (1) and UNLV's Luis Rodriguez also received votes.

Utah State's Josh Udeje and UNM's Mustapha Amzil are the co-6th Man of the Year with four votes each. Wyoming freshman Cam Manyawu got three votes.

Voting was conducted independent of Mountain West Conference oversight by select media covering teams in all 11 league markets. Voters ranked players 1 through 15 and vote totals are included for transparency.

2023-24 All-Mountain West Media Awards

—ALL-MW FIRST TEAM —F Jaedon LeDee, San Diego State (161 votes)

F Great Osobor, Utah State (144)

G Isaiah Stevens, Colorado State (135)

F Tyson Degenhart, Boise State (119)

G Jarod Lucas, Nevada (118)

—ALL-MW SECOND TEAM —G Darius Brown II, Utah State (110)

G Kenan Blackshear, Nevada (95)

G Donovan Dent, New Mexico (75)

F JT Toppin, New Mexico (71)

G Jaelen House, New Mexico (63)

G Dedan Thomas, UNLV (63)

—ALL-MW THIRD TEAM —F O'Mar Stanley, Boise State (37)

G Sam Griffin, Wyoming (27)

F Rytis Petraitis, Air Force (19)

F Nick Davidson, Nevada (17)

G Jamal Mashburn Jr., New Mexico (15)

—ALL-MW HONORABLE MENTION —Kalib Boone, UNLV (14); Nique Clifford, Colorado State (9); MJ Amey, San Jose State (8); Ian Martinez, Utah State (6); Lamont Butler, San Diego State (4); Chibuzo Agbo, Boise State (3); Mason Falslev, Utah State (2); Max Rice, Boise State (2); Brendan Wenzel, Wyoming (2); Enoch Boakye, Fresno State (1).

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jaedon LeDee, San Diego State (7)

Others receiving votes: Darius Brown II, Utah State (3); Great Osobor, Utah State (1)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Danny Sprinkle, Utah State (10)

Others receiving votes: Steve Alford, Nevada (1)

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jaelen House, New Mexico (4)

Others receiving votes: Lamont Butler, San Diego State (3); Tré Coleman, Nevada (2); JT Toppin, New Mexico (1); Luis Rodriguez (1).

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Great Osobor, Utah State (8)

Others receiving votes: Darius Brown II, Utah State (3)

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: JT Toppin, New Mexico (8)

Others receiving votes: Dedan Thomas, UNLV (3)

co-6TH MAN OF THE YEAR: Josh Udeje, Utah State (4); Mustapha Amzil, New Mexico (4)

Others receiving votes: Cam Manyawu, Wyoming (3)