Sabrina Ionescu named a finalist for the prestigious Wade Trophy

Ashley Young
NBC Sports Northwest

Seems like not a day passes without Sabrina Ionescu either winning a postseason award or being named a finalist for another prestigious award, and with good reason!

On Thursday, Ionescu was named a finalist along with Dana Evans (Louisville), Tyasha Harris (South Carolina) and Aari McDonald (Arizona) for the Wade Trophy.

The Wade Trophy - now in its 43nd year - is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women's basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the The Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

Should Ionescu win, she would join elite company of other two-time winners Nancy Lieberman (1979, 1980), Seimone Augustus (2005, 2006), Brittney Griner (2012, 2013), and Breanna Stewart (2015, 2016).

Maya Moore (2009, 2010, 2011) is the award's only three-time recipient.

While the senior continues to rack up postseason awards, there are still a few more left on the table: Ionescu is also a finalist for the Naismith Trophy and is a frontrunner for the Wooden Award, which she took home last year along with the Wade Trophy. 

She is also a finalist for the AAU James E. Sullivan Award, the Senior CLASS Award and the Nancy Lieberman Award for the nation's top point guard.

Sabrina Ionescu named a finalist for the prestigious Wade Trophy originally appeared on NBC Sports Northwest

What to Read Next