Russell Wilson among Broncos’ 5 team captains for 2022 season

·1 min read

No surprise — Russell Wilson is among the Denver Broncos’ five team captains for the 2022 NFL season, the team announced Tuesday.

The team’s captains were voted on by players, with Wilson joined by wide receiver Courtland Sutton as offensive captains.

On defense, safety Justin Simmons and outside linebacker Bradley Chubb were voted captains. And for special teams, kicker Brandon McManus was also voted a captain.

Sutton, Simmons and McManus are returning captains. Last year, Sutton, Simmons and McManus were joined by ex-quarterback Teddy Bridgewater (offense), ex-outside linebacker Von Miller (defense) and safety Kareem Jackson as the team’s six captains in 2021.

Wilson, Sutton, Simmons, Chubb and McManus will now lead Denver into the 2022 season, starting with a Monday Night Football showdown with the Seattle Seahawks on Sept. 12. That contest will mark Wilson’s first return to Seattle after he was traded to the Broncos earlier this offseason.

Follow the Broncos Wire Podcast:
Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Google Podcasts

Story originally appeared on Broncos Wire