The Rugby Championship 2023: Fixtures, results, how to watch and latest odds

Beauden Barrett - The Rugby Championship 2023: Fixtures, results, how to watch and latest odds
Beauden Barrett is starting as full-back for the All Blacks against South Africa - Shutterstock/Regi Varghese

A last-minute try by Juan Martin Gonzalez gave Argentina a shock victory over Australia in the second round of the Rugby Championship.

The Pumas have beaten Australia in successive tests for the first time, both planned by former Wallabies coach Michael Cheika. Argentina won 48-17 in San Juan last August before Dave Rennie was fired as coach and replaced by Eddie Jones after an unsuccessful spring tour of Europe.

Jones faces the prospect of taking the Wallabies to France for the Rugby World Cup without a win unless Australia can rebound in either of their two Bledisloe Cup matches against New Zealand and a warmup against France next month.

What are the Rugby Championship fixtures?

Round one (Saturday, July 8)

Round two (Saturday, July 15)

Round three (Saturday, July 29)

  • Australia v New Zealand, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne (10.45am)

  • South Africa v Argentina, Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg (4.05pm)

How can I watch the Rugby Championship?

Viewers in the UK can watch all six Rugby Championship matches live on Sky Sports Action. Subscribers can stream the action via the Sky Go app.

What is the format of the 2023 Rugby Championship?

Traditionally, the Championship would feature 12 games, with each nation playing home and away against each of the other three. However, with the Rugby World Cup starting on September 8, the Rugby Championship has been abridged.

In a month-long competition each nation will play each other only once to allow a sufficient break before the global showpiece event.

Who’s in the squads?

*previously uncapped players


Forwards (26): Eduardo Bello, Ignacio Calles, Thomas Gallo, Francisco Gómez Kodela, Santiago Medrano, Joel Sclavi, Lucio Sordoni, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Mayco Vivas, Facundo Bosch, Agustín Creevy, Julián Montoya (c), Santiago Socino, Ignacio Ruiz, Matías Alemanno, Lucas Paulos, Guido Petti, Tomás Lavannini, Marcos Kremer, Pedro Rubiolo, Juan Martín González, Santiago Grondona, Facundo Isa, Pablo Matera, Joaquín Oviedo, Rodrigo Bruni.

Backs (22): Lautaro Bazán Vélez, Gonzalo Bertranou, Tomás Cubelli, Gonzalo García, Tomás Albornoz, Santiago Carreras, Nicolás Sánchez, Jerónimo de la Fuente, Santiago Chocobares, Lucio Cinti, Luciano González, Matías Moroni, Matías Orlando, Martín Bogado, Sebastián Cancelliere, Mateo Carreras, Santiago Cordero, Bautista Delguy, Juan Imhoff, Rodrigo Isgró, Emiliano Boffelli, Juan Cruz Mallía


Forwards (18): Allan Alaalatoa, Richie Arnold, Matt Faessler, Nick Frost, Matt Gibbon, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper, Tom Hooper, Rob Leota, Fraser McReight, Zane Nonggorr, David Porecki, Pete Samu, Will Skelton, James Slipper, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese, Rob Valetini.

Backs (16): Quade Cooper, Lalakai Foketi, Carter Gordon, Reece Hodge, Len Ikitau, Marika Koroibete, Ryan Lonergan, Tate McDermott, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Izaia Perese, Suliasi Vunivalu, Nic White, Tom Wright, Ben Donaldson, Josh Kemeny, Dylan Pietsch.

South Africa

Forwards (24): Thomas du Toit, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Frans Malherbe, Ox Nche, Trevor Nyakane, Joseph Dweba, Malcom Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Lood de Jager, Eben Etzebeth, Marvin Orie, RG Snyman, Jean Kleyn, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi, Evan Roos, Kwagga Smith, Marco van Staden, Duane Vermeulen, Jasper Wiese, Deon Fourie, Franco Mostert, Jean-Luc du Preez.

Backs (17): Faf de Klerk, Jaden Hendrikse, Herschel Jantjies, Cobus Reinach, Grant Williams, Manie Libbok, Handre Pollard, Damian Willemse, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Kriel, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Cheslin Kolbe, Willie Le Roux, Makazole Mapimpi, Canan Moodie.

New Zealand

Forwards (20): Codie Taylor, Dane Coles, Samisoni Taukei’aho, Ethan de Groot, Fletcher Newell, Nepo Laulala, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Tamaiti Williams*, Tyrel Lomax, Brodie Retallick, Josh Lord, Samuel Whitelock, Scott Barrett, Tupou Vaa’i, Ardie Savea, Dalton Papali’i, Luke Jacobson, Sam Cane, Samipeni Finau*, Shannon Frizell.

Backs (16): Aaron Smith, Finlay Christie, Cam Roigard*, Beauden Barrett, Damian McKenzie, Richie Mo’unga, Anton Lienert-Brown, Jordie Barrett, Rieko Ioane, Braydon Ennor, Dallas McLeod*, Caleb Clarke, Emoni Narawa*, Leicester Fainga’anuku, Mark Telea, Will Jordan.

What are the best of the latest odds?

  • New Zealand 8/15

  • South Africa 11/2

  • Australia 16/1

  • Argentina 100/1

Odds correct as of July 16

Broaden your horizons with award-winning British journalism. Try The Telegraph free for 1 month, then enjoy 1 year for just $9 with our US-exclusive offer.