The All-RSS Team: Offensive Guard

Robin Washut, Senior Writer
Husker Online

There will always be endless debates over who are the greatest Nebraska football players of all time, so decided to let our members settle it for themselves.

By voting for the top Huskers at each position, we will assemble our very own All-RSS Team. Today we look at the final voting results for the offensive guards.


Getty Images

1. Will Shields - 800 votes (32.4%)

Though Will Shields never won a title at Nebraska, he paved the way for the championship squads that would arrive just a few years after he graduated.

An all-conference honoree in three straight years, Shields helped Nebraska win the national rushing title in three of his four seasons.

Just the second offensive lineman in school history to start as a freshman (nine starts in 1989), Shields was a consensus All-American and won the Outland Trophy as a senior in 1992.

As brilliant as his college career was, Shields was even better in the NFL. Selected in the third round of the 1993 draft by the Kansas City Chiefs, he never missed a game in his 14-year career.

Shields went to the Pro Bowl 12 times and made the All-Pro team seven times, including five straight (2002-2006). He accomplished the rare feat of being inducted into both the College Football and NFL Hall of Fame.


Associated Press

2. Dean Steinkuhler - 658 votes (26.6%)

Dean Steinkuhler's finest season was in 1983, when he helped pave the way for Nebraska's "Scoring Explosion" offense.

He won both the Lombardi and Outland trophies that season and capped the year off by scoring on one of Nebraska's most famed plays ever, when he scooped up Turner Gill's intentional fumble for a 19-yard touchdown in the 1984 Orange Bowl, the first ever "Fumblerooski."

Steinkuhler was taken with the second overall pick in the 1984 draft by the Houston Oilers. He played eight seasons in Houston before retiring in 1991.

His sons Ty and Baker also played football at Nebraska and were valuable members of their respective teams.


3. Bob Brown - 381 votes (15.4%)

It can be argued that no player in school history mixed collegiate and pro success as well as Bob Brown did.

He was a critical component of the 1963 team that won NU's first Big Eight championship. A bulldozer at offensive guard, Brown also played linebacker and, after garnering first-team All-American honors in 1963, was elected into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1993.

Brown (No. 64), Tom Novak (No. 60), and Johnny Rodgers (No. 20) are the only Huskers to have their numbers permanently retired at Nebraska.

But Brown's career didn't stop once he left Lincoln. The No. 2 overall pick in the 1964 draft, Brown won the Rookie of the Year and started 110 games over the next 10 seasons.

He made the Pro Bowl six times and was named a first-team All-Pro five. The NFL included him on its 1960's All-Decade Team, then he was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2004.

Up next: Center


What to Read Next