New Rockford-Sheyenne holds off Midway-Minto, despite 29 points from Riley Robinson

Mar. 4—DEVILS LAKE — New Rockford-Sheyenne had just enough to survive Midway-Minto senior Riley Robinson.

Robinson scored 29 points but the Rockets' size and 25 points from sophomore Easton Simon sparked a 52-48 win over the Mustangs on Monday night in the North Dakota Division B Region 2 boys basketball tournament.

New Rockford-Sheyenne advances to play North Border in the late semifinal on Tuesday.

"I thought our defense the whole game was very good," New Rockford-Sheyenne coach Tyler Cook said. "(Midway-Minto) averages like 70 (points) per game. To give up about 50, we knew we'd have a chance if we did that."

A 14-3 run in the third quarter was the key for the Rockets, who trailed 35-30 after a Robinson triple with 4:30 to go in the third quarter.

The 14-3 run was highlighted by Simon's four-point play. He hit a 3-pointer, was fouled and nailed the free throw to spin a one-point deficit into a three-point advantage.

But the Mustangs wouldn't go away.

A Robinson steal and score tied the game at 44 with 5:30 to go in the fourth quarter.

Rockets junior Kailar Jacobson scored on a fastbreak after the Mustangs missed a potential game-tying 3-pointer to push the lead out to 50-45 with 38 seconds remaining.

Robinson hit a 3-pointer with 17.6 seconds left to cut the Rockets' lead to 50-48.

Robinson and Trenton Sitzer each missed potential game-tying 3-pointers in the final 15 seconds as the Rockets hung on.

The Rockets were hoping to lean more on a size advantage against the Mustangs but the Robinson trio made that difficult between senior Riley Robinson and sophomores Elijah and Ezra Robinson.

"They're small but, boy, they battle for position," Cook said. "We didn't get a ton of (points in the paint), but I felt down the stretch we got key offensive rebounds using our strength."

Halftime: Tied at 26.

Midway-Minto — Elijah Robinson 2, Trenton Sitzer 3, Aiden Lunski 7, Riley Robinson 29, Ben Gudajtes 7

New Rockford-Sheyenne — Bennett Meier 11, Kailar Jacobson 8, Easton Simon 25, Ashton Reimche 8